[Quick Book Thoughts] The Dispatcher by John Scalzi (Audiobook)

the-dispatcherBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible FREEBIE
Listened: November 2016

Synopsis:

Zachary Quinto – best known for his role as the Nimoy-approved Spock in the recent Star Trek reboot and the menacing, power-stealing serial killer, Sylar, in Heroes – brings his well-earned sci-fi credentials and simmering intensity to this audio-exclusive novella from master storyteller John Scalzi.

One day, not long from now, it becomes almost impossible to murder anyone – 999 times out of a thousand, anyone who is intentionally killed comes back. How? We don’t know. But it changes everything: war, crime, daily life.

Tony Valdez is a Dispatcher – a licensed, bonded professional whose job is to humanely dispatch those whose circumstances put them in death’s crosshairs, so they can have a second chance to avoid the reaper. But when a fellow Dispatcher and former friend is apparently kidnapped, Tony learns that there are some things that are worse than death and that some people are ready to do almost anything to avenge a supposed wrong.

It’s a race against time for Valdez to find his friend before it’s too late…before not even a Dispatcher can save him.

My Thoughts

I got this FREE audiobook from Audible after seeing Felicia’s review for it. And who doesn’t love a free audiobook? AND it was narrated by Zachary Quinto, who I love! Let’s talk narration first, because it was awesome. Lately I haven’t been a fan of celebrity narrators because while I find they’re good at acting on a screen, they tend to be boring with their narrating. Zachary Quinto, though? Totally not boring! I loved his narrating and I really want to see if he’s narrated anything else.

This really wasn’t the kind of book that I would’ve picked out on my own, but it was really good! It was a quick listen at just over 2 hours, but I loved the story. The whole premise of it, with the dispatcher role, was spooky and intriguing, and the mystery was spot on. I was shocked at the end! I definitely might have to check out more of John Scalzi’s books, too, if they’re all similar to this one.

So if you’re looking for a quick listen, try this one out! Not only will you love the story, but the narration will take it to the next level!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

