[Book Talk] Austenland (Austenland, #1) by Shannon Hale (Audiobook)

austenlandBook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Read: November 2016

Austenland series

  1. Austenland

Synopsis:

Jane Hayes is a seemingly normal young New Yorker, but she has a secret. Her obsession with Mr. Darcy, as played by Colin Firth in the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, is ruining her love life: no real man can compare. But when a wealthy relative bequeaths her a trip to an English resort catering to Austen-crazed women, Jane’s fantasies of meeting the perfect Regency-era gentleman suddenly become realer than she ever could have imagined.

Decked out in empire-waist gowns, Jane struggles to master Regency etiquette and flirts with gardeners and gentlemen: or maybe even, she suspects, with the actors who are playing them. It’s all a game, Jane knows. And yet the longer she stays, the more her insecurities seem to fall away, and the more she wonders: Is she about to kick the Austen obsession for good, or could all her dreams actually culminate in a Mr. Darcy of her own?

My Thoughts

Oh my GOD! So I am a huge Pride & Prejudice fan … like, HUGE! When I went on vacation a few weeks ago, I was looking for a couple good audiobooks to listen to on my short drive. I usually listen at 2x the speed, so anything around 6 hours would have been perfect. As I was looking at what people also liked for books I loved, I came across Austenland (which someone mentioned in a My Lady Jane review – amazing book, if you haven’t listened to it) and I decided to go for it. It was 6 hours and 20 minutes, which was perfect, and I figured it would make a good listen for my drive home, since the end of vacation usually means I’m tired and need something to keep my attention up for the drive – this was the best pick!

I loved Jane and her obsession with Jane Austen books – particularly Mr. Darcy. I loved how she talked about loving the book, and then watching the 6 hour movie starring Colin Firth and the whole time I was like, “YUP! I totally get you!” And when she gets the trip of a lifetime to go to Austenland, I was so jealous! I mean, how cool would that be, to get to dress in period costumes and maybe meet the man of your dreams? Your own personal Mr. Darcy? So cool.

This book was both expected and completely unexpected. I loved that it had everything I wanted and more! The narration was perfect. One of my favourite narrators, Katherine Kellgren, narrated and she’s pretty much the bee’s knees of audiobooks. Her voices were all perfect, including the males, and she got that humour across so perfectly! I also loved how you could really tell apart the story from the other tidbits, like the list of Jane’s boyfriends. It made for a great listen!

If you’re looking for a quick and fun read (or listen) and you love Jane Austen, please give this one a try! It was just too cute and I can totally see myself listening to this one again – I’m so glad I bought it!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

