[Book Talk] The Beach Cafe (The Beach Cafe, #1) by Lucy Diamond

the-beach-cafeBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Borrowed
Read: November 2016

Synopsis:

Evie Flynn has always been the black sheep of her family – a dreamer and a drifter, unlike her over-achieving elder sisters. She’s tried making a name for herself as an actress, a photographer and a singer, but nothing has ever worked out. Now she’s stuck in temp hell, with a sensible, pension-planning boyfriend. Somehow life seems to be passing her by. Then her beloved aunt Jo dies suddenly in a car crash, leaving Evie an unusual legacy – her precious beach cafe in Cornwall. Determined to make a success of something for the first time in her life, Evie heads off to Cornwall to get the cafe and her life back on track – and gets more than she bargained for, both in work and in love…

My Thoughts

Oh my goodness, I loved this book! This reminded me of the days when I discovered the works of Sophie Kinsella and gobbled everything up that she had written! I fell in love with this story and Lucy Diamond’s writing right from the get-go and now I seriously want to hunker down and read all of her books. Isn’t it great when you find a new favourite author and realize they have a HUGE backlist (as well as new books, too) that you can dive into? I’m so excited!

Some might say that this story was a bit too easy going, but honestly, that’s what I was looking for! I love a good chick lit book and this was perfect. I loved the whole idea of the beach cafe and the fact that Evie inherited it from her aunt. I think what I loved most about it is that even though I’m a huge lover of winter and snow (it’s true!), I think it would be perfect to live on a beach. Can you imagine, hearing the waves crashing every day? I would feel insanely intimidated to run a cafe, had I inherited one, but Evie made it sound so enjoyable and fun – not to mention, the cast of characters who joined her at the cafe. I loved them all!

I also loved how British the whole story was. There’s just something about the British dialogue and whatnot that I love! Plus, there’s a good romance in the story, too – and who can say no to that? This reminded me of a Bridget Jones book, with Evie being such a likeable and relatable character. I couldn’t get enough of this story and read it within a couple days, enjoying every second. Honestly, I can’t wait to read more of Lucy Diamonds books after this one!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

