[Book Talk] Blue-Eyed Devil (Travises, #2) by Lisa Kleypas

blue-eyed-devilBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Borrowed
Read: December 2016

Synopsis:

MEET THE BLUE-EYED DEVIL – His name is Hardy Cates. He’s a self-made millionaire who comes from the wrong side of the tracks. He’s made enemies in the rough-and-tumble ride to the top of Houston’s oil industry. He’s got hot blood in his veins. And vengeance on his mind.

MEET THE HEIRESS – She’s Haven Travis. Despite her family’s money, she refuses to set out on the path they’ve chosen for her. But when Haven marries a man her family disapproves of, her life is set on a new and dangerous course. Two years later, Haven comes home, determined to guard her heart. And Hardy Cates, a family enemy, is the last person she needs darkening her door or setting her soul on fire.

WATCH THE SPARKS FLY….Filled with Lisa Kleypas’s trademark sensuality, filled with characters you love to hate and men you love to love, Blue-Eyed Devil will hold you captive in its storytelling power as the destiny of two people unfolds with every magical word.

My Thoughts

When it comes to getting book recommendations, I am a sucker for those I see on Twitter. Hype books? If lots of people are talking about them on Twitter, I am bound to get my own copy just to see what the hype is. If someone connects emotionally with a book and raves about it, I’ll try it. If everyone hates a book, I’ll most likely avoid it. Needless to say, Twitter is a great place to find new reads!

So the other week when I saw Miranda Kenneally talking about this book, I had to try it. I had read a Lisa Kleypas book in the past and liked it so I thought I’d try another!

Oh my goodness. I don’t want to get into details, since I pretty much borrowed this book and started reading it without knowing anything about it, but this was one of those books that had me on the edge of my seat. It was so intense at one point that I was almost shaking with nerves for the main character! As hard as it was, I have to say that I love it when a book does that. I love a book that has me turning the pages so fast that I just can’t wait until I get to read it again.

Certain things made this less than a 5 star book, though … Haven was hard to like sometimes and there was almost too much of a reliance on sex, rather than actual relationship. I think I wanted Haven to find something within herself more than I did within a man, but that might have just been a peeve of mine and no one else. Her brothers were also a little too controlling, which drove me crazy, but that didn’t make me want to avoid the rest of the series – if anything, reading this book made me want to read more of Lisa’s books! Next I hope to read the first book in this series. Hopefully it’s just as good!

 

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

