🎄 Holiday Reading: It’s A Wonderful Fireman (The Bachelor Firemen of San Gabriel, #6.5) by Jennifer Bernard

its-a-wonderful-firemanBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Borrowed
Read: December 2016

Synopsis:

Hard-edged fireman Dean Mulligan has never been a big fan of Christmas. Twinkly lights and sparkly tinsel can’t brighten the memories of too many years spent in ramshackle foster homes. Although he’s established himself as one of the top firefighters at San Gabriel Station 1, he doesn’t think he’s good enough for someone like gorgeous Lizzie.

Lizzie Breen is used to fighting—from her alpha male brothers, who try to smother her in the name of safety, to the life-threatening childhood illness she overcame. She knows what she and Mulligan feel for each other is a lot more than a fling, but she can’t get him to see that. The only gift Lizzie wants to give him this season is her love, but he’s not willing to accept it.

When Mulligan is trapped in the burning wreckage of a holiday store, a Christmas angel arrives to open his eyes. But is it too late? This Christmas, it’ll take an angel, a determined woman in love, and the entire Bachelor Firemen crew to make him believe … it is indeed a wonderful life.

My Thoughts

Jennifer Bernard’s The Bachelor Firemen of San Gabriel series has been on my radar for some time – I mean, who wouldn’t want to read about some sexy firemen? Because I was looking for some fun holiday reads for the month of December, I finally decided to dive into this series … with book #6.5!

While I don’t think that it’s absolutely necessary to read the first books in this series before reading this one, I think it might have been beneficial. We probably just got our main characters’ names in passing in the past books, but I always just like reading the first books in the series to get everyone’s story so that nothing is being spoiled in later books. However, while this was a fun Christmas read, I’m not sure if I’ll continue with the series or not, so it was kind of nice to just get one shorter book out of the way and then we’ll see if I get in the mood to read another in this series later on.

Anyway, this was a fun Christmas read! I love how it was set up to mimic It’s A Wonderful Life with our main character, Mulligan, being trapped in a burning building and having to visit his past. He was kind of a gruff character, a bit of a scrooge or a grinch, and the whole point of the story was to show that there is good in him and to show him where his true love lies. It was definitely a fun twist to have it rooted in a Christmas classic, which was my favourite part of the story. Plus, there was romance, hot firemen, and lots of Christmas touches throughout.

So while it wasn’t my favourite read of all time, it was fun to read during the holidays to get into the holiday spirit – and it kind of made me want to watch It’s A Wonderful Life (which, can you believe, I’ve never seen??). Lizzie and Mulligan were great characters and I like how it wasn’t just about the romance, but there was some drama as well. Something a little steamier and different for the holidays!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

