🎄 Holiday Reading: Winter Wonderland (LoveTravel, #10) by Belinda Jones

winter-wonderlandBook Details

Format: Paperback
Source: Borrowed (Library)
Read: December 2016

Synopsis:

Imagine waking up in a snow globe…

That’s how travel journalist Krista feels when she arrives in magical Quebec to report on Canada’s glittering Winter Carnival.

Over ten sub-zero days Krista’s formerly frozen heart begins to melt as she discovers an enchanting world of ice palaces, husky dog-sledding and maple-syrup treats galore. And then she meets Jacques, a man as handsome and rugged as he is mysterious…

The two share a secret that could bond them forever, but can they find a way to break through the protective layers around their hearts to warm up this winter wonderland?

…let the snow-spangled adventure begin

My Thoughts

This book isn’t really a Christmas book, despite what the cover implies with the ‘Winter Wonderland’ title reminiscent of the popular Christmas song, or the fact that the scenery takes place in an ornament, BUT it was a really fun book to read in December! I had been looking for holiday books to read and this one was recommended by other readers and I kind of loved the fact that it took place in Montreal – I have a huge love of books that take place anywhere in Canada! I remember the book The Space Between Us that takes place in Banff and it was so much fun to read about a place I had actually been to, and a book that not only takes place in Canada, but it’s like a tour of one particular place rather than just a passing mention that it takes place in a certain city. I have never been to Montreal, but it was so much fun “visiting” the Winter Carnival – I almost felt like I was there! And it was such a romanticized vision of Montreal that I doubt anyone would finish the book saying that they wouldn’t want to visit.

So I definitely loved the setting of this book, and the characters were fantastic as well! I loved Krista and her vagabond attitude. It was fun to see her wanting to take in the sites and do the attractions that I would normally stay away from. I got hungry reading about her eating in the restaurants, thirsty when she’d have a fun cocktail, and I know that I really need to go for a walk one of these nights to see the Northern Lights. The whole story was so romantic and just so Canadian! It’s stories like these that I love to read and I kind of want to have a physical copy for my shelf that I can read again and again. Oh, and there is romance, too! Trust me, if you’re a romance lover like I am, you will love the romantic lead!

If you love to travel, if you want to learn more about one of Canada’s great cities, and if you just love romance, you should definitely read this one! It might not be Christmas-themed, but it will still put you in a holiday mood.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

