[Book Talk] The Miracle Morning: The Not-So-Obvious Secret Guaranteed To Transform Your Life (Before 8am) by Hal Elrod

the-miracle-morningBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Borrowed
Read: December 2016

Synopsis:

What if you could miraculously wake up tomorrow and any—or every area of your life was transformed? What would be different? Would you be happier? Healthier? More successful? In better shape? Would you have more energy? Less Stress? More Money? Better relationships? Which of your problems would be solved?

What if I told you that there is a “not-so-obvious” secret that is guaranteed to transform any—or literally every area of your life, faster than you ever thought possible? What if I told you it would only take 6 minutes a day?

Enter The Miracle Morning. What’s now being practiced by thousands of people around the world could perhaps be the simplest approach to creating the life you’ve always wanted. It’s been right there in front of us, but this book has finally brought it to life.

Are you ready? The next chapter of your life—the most extraordinary life you’ve ever imagined—is about to begin.

YOU DESERVE AN EXTRAORDINARY LIFE. IT’S TIME TO WAKE UP TO YOUR FULL POTENTIAL

My Thoughts

I kind of love reading self improvement books, especially ones that help people get organized and get more done. This book was one of those ones that everyone was recommending. I saw it a lot on a Bullet Journal group I was in on Facebook, and then at a workshop for my son, another mom recommended it to me when I asked about how to find the time to fit in exercise during the day (mainly because I’d rather read books than exercise). It was already on my kindle from the library, so I decided to dive in.

This was a super quick read and definitely inspiring! I’m already an early riser, so getting things done before 8:00 a.m. isn’t necessarily a hard thing for me, but I also tend to want to just sit and read and drink coffee instead of accomplishing anything. Getting up early helps me wake up, but I feel like I could do more to help me feel like I’m getting more done.

The thing I loved about this book was the whole idea of a 60 minute morning ritual that included things like affirmations, exercise, reading, and journaling. I’ve been wanting to get back into yoga lately and trying to work it in during this 60 minutes is so reasonable! I also love reading self improvement books and I feel like working in 20 minutes of reading that type of book first thing would be a great thing.

I also loved the idea that it might take 21 days to form a habit, but that those days are HARD. I loved how easy it was laid out to really start doing something until you are unstoppable and it just becomes something that you do, it’s not hard anymore. The example given in the book was how the author got into running and it was just so inspirational! For someone like me who could definitely use the exercise, this book motivated me to start with just something – you don’t have to start with it being all or nothing, but just something small and work up to doing more. That’s something I always forget!

Anyway, in the end, I totally plan on doing this. With it being December and with Christmas coming, being busy a lot of the time, getting up earlier and looking forward to getting up and getting my day started is so appealing. And slowly working in some exercise, making it a daily thing to journal, to have affirmations that help me to feel more positive … it’s obvious, but not obvious. Getting up early is an obvious thing, but it’s definitely figuring out what to do in that time that people need help with. And while I thought that this book might not resonate with me as a stay at home mom, it can still really work for me. Having two kids under three means that I have times where I feel like I’ve lost myself and who I was and I feel like incorporating something like this into my daily routine can definitely help me get that back!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

