The Top 10 Books I Read In 2016

This year just flew by! Compared to the past few years, I’ve actually amped up my reading and I feel like part of that is because I just didn’t care about what I read. I went with the flow, went with my mood, and didn’t really go with what the crowd was reading. Yeah, there was the odd book that I just HAD to read because everyone else was, but it was kind of nice to just read whatever the heck I wanted! Let’s just hope I can keep that up in 2017!

So, in no particular order …

The Top 10 Books I Read in 2016

a-court-of-mist-and-fury austenland happiness-for-beginners if-you-only-knew leave-me my-lady-jane omens one-true-loves the-martian the-royal-we

  1. Leave Me by Gayle Forman
  2. If Only You Knew by Kristan Higgins
  3. Austenland by Shannon Hale (Audiobook)
  4. The entire Cainsville series (or what’s available so far) by Kelley Armstrong
  5. The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Mogan (Audiobook)
  6. Happiness For Beginners by Katherine Center
  7. The Martian by Andy Weir (Audiobook)
  8. A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) by Sarah J. Maas
  9. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  10. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows (Audiobook)

I say they’re in no particular order, but there were a few major standouts for me, like My Lady Jane, which was narrated by the amazing Katherine Kellgren – there’s one particular bit about horse jokes that I just can’t get out of my head! And whenever I think about this book I want to listen to it again. There’s also A Court of Mist and Fury, the follow up to A Court of Thorns and Roses, which had me on edge the ENTIRE TIME I was reading it – and I’m seriously counting down the days until I get to read the next book, which is going to be epic. The Royal We was like reading the romance of William and Kate – long, but I didn’t want it to end! And in the same category of British romances, Austenland was such a fun romp and a great listen at the end of a road trip, making me want to go to Austenland, had I not already found my Mr. Darcy. And Happiness For Beginners is one of those books I love, where I can live vicariously through someone traveling to find their happiness.

And my top 5 non-fiction reads …

talking-as-fast-as-i-can the-5-love-languages-of-children the-dirty-life the-happiness-equation yes-please

  1. The Dirty Life: On Farming, Food, and Love by Kristan Kimball (Audiobook)
  2. Yes Please by Amy Poehler (Audiobook)
  3. Talking As Fast As I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls and Everything In Between by Lauren Graham (Audiobook)
  4. The Happiness Equation: Want Nothing + Do Anything = Have Everything by Neil Pasricha (Audiobook)
  5. The 5 Love Languages of Children by Gary Chapman

These books are all so different, but all have stuck with me! At the beginning of gardening season next year, I might have to do a relisten of The Dirty Life for inspiration, and I still revisit my notes on The 5 Love Languages of Children when my kids and I are butting heads. And I could really listen to Lauren Graham and Amy Poehler read their books over and over again because they are fantastic.

Honestly, this year was such a great year for reading. I was so happy that I stopped being so fussy with what I was reading and how much I was reading and just went with my moods. Some weeks I read a ton and other weeks I would barely read. Not only that, but I read whatever the hell I wanted to – if I felt like reading a ton of books by the same author, I did, and if I felt like reading one genre for weeks on end, I did, and if I just felt like watching Gilmore Girls over and over again, I did. It was a wonderfully freeing year with reading and I hope I can keep it up next year!

What were your favourite books of the year? 

2 thoughts on “The Top 10 Books I Read In 2016

  1. I realllly need to read so many of these! My Lady Jane and One True Loves are on my wishlist! And I have ACOMAF but I just haven’t had the time yet- but I have seen it on so many lists this week that I think I need to make the time! Same with The Martian, it’s a must! And I also need to read Amy Poehler’s book for sure, and Lauren Graham’s! Great picks! And glad you had such a wonderful reading year, too 😀

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

