End of The Year: What My Reading Stats Were!

I hadn’t actually planned to read as many books as I did this year, thinking that with the two kids I would be way too busy to read. However, when you love doing something, you make the time for it! I managed to work in reading before the kids woke up, during their naps, or while waiting for appointments, listening to audiobooks, and reading before bed. This helped me reach … drumroll please

139 books read in 2016! 

Last year I read 106 books and mostly e-books, so this was a good number for me. I’m hoping that in 2017 I can read more physical books and try to not have huge slumps – though you can’t really control those, can you?

Reading Format: 

Physical Books – 30
Audio Books – 55
E-Books – 54

Source: 

Library – 49
Books I Own (Incl. e-books) – 78
Review Books – 7
Freebies (Kindle) – 6

Books DNF’d:

3 (This is a tricky one, since I have started a lot of books in the past year that I just couldn’t get into during the first few pages and put them down. I don’t consider those DNF-d books; the ones that I actually really try to read and get anywhere from 50-150 pages into but then just can’t anymore are considered a DNF.)

The longest book I read: 

Voyager (Outlander, #2) by Diana Gabaldon (1,072 pages)

The shortest book I read: 

Buried Bodies (Anderson High Wolves, #1) by Kelly Apple (66 pages)

Male vs. Female Authors: 

Surprisingly (since I always tend to pick books by female authors), I read 17 books by male authors. The other 121 were female. Naturally. Next year I’d like to track a little more deeply with books by POC, nationalities, etc.

Canadian Reads: 

Now, when I finished 2015, my plan was to read more Canada in the following year! I didn’t read as much Canada as I had hoped, but I did manage 14 books – with nearly 50% of those being by my favourite, Kelley Armstrong. I do plan to read more than this in 2017!

What I learned from tracking: 

I learned that I would love to track more things like genres and nationalities, as well as a running tally of the kids books we read throughout the year! I do love my bullet journal so I’m hoping to better track more details of my reading in 2017.

Blog stats: 

Where are my readers coming from? 

I’m kind of happy to see that most of my readers come from Canada! The natural progression is then the U.S. and then the U.K.

What was my most popular post?

Not surprisingly, my most popular post was about coming back to blogging! My stats are all over the place on the blog for 2016, mainly because I thought I would quit blogging at the beginning of the year and then decided that wasn’t a good idea (since I love talking about books!) and came back later in the year.

Blogging thoughts from the past year? 

Blogging is so different for me now. I almost look at it more as documentation of what I’m reading and a track keeper for things like read-a-thons, but not so much as a social thing anymore. It’s tough since I did quit for a while and even though I’m getting views, I get close to NO comments anymore which kind of sucks, but I do keep trying to promote the blog through social media and when I have some time I do try to comment on blogs. What else can you do, right?

Looking Forward To 2017

The thing I loved about this past year is that I read whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. I didn’t feel a ton of pressure to be reading anything specific and the odd time I’d follow the hype on Twitter about a book, but mostly I’d just go by my mood. It was wonderful! I plan to keep this up in 2017, as well as reign in my book buying, and read more from my shelves.

As I write this, it’s December 29th and I’m really, really looking forward to my first read of the year! I still don’t know what it is, but isn’t there something so great about a fresh new book on the first day of a new year?

All the best, my lovely readers, in 2017!

xx

2 thoughts on “End of The Year: What My Reading Stats Were!

  1. Kristilyn -Just discovered your blog through Bout of Books. Congratulations on reading 139 books with 2 very young children. I too read more women authors than men. I forgot to include that stat in my 2016 wrap-up.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

