Bout of Books 18.0: Start-Up and Goal Post (& Updates!)

 Happy New Year! I have been SO freaking excited all weekend because of the new year starting, which means starting a new year of reading (seriously, what DO I read first??), as well as new challenges! Now, last year I didn’t really sign up for challenges since I had a brand new baby and a toddler so who knew what kind of reading time I’d get in, but I managed to read 139 books and I want to start with good momentum! What’s good for that? A new reading challenge!
wuth1tql

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 2nd and runs through Sunday, January 8th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 18 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Time Devoted to Reading

Honestly, my reading is all over the place, but I’m hoping to devote the early morning hours to reading since I get up at 5:00 with my husband and usually work in reading during that time. I hope to get in an audiobook during housework time AND most likely reading before bed. If I feel like reading during naptimes, I might do that, too! Who says you can’t find reading time as a mom?

My Goals

  • Read THREE books. If I got FIVE read, that would be awesome.
  • Participate in some of the challenges.
  • Cheer on and chat with my favourite people when I have the time.
  • Fit in reading where I can, but don’t stress about it since my kids are my top priority!
  • HAVE FUN!

Books to Read

I have a few books out from the library I’d like to get to, and maybe start something from my pre-2017 TBR, too.

Updates

Monday
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books I finished: The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
Books I started: The Vegetarian by Han Kang
Thoughts: An excellent first day! I was lucky that my husband had the day off so I just immersed myself in a book whenever I could. It was a perfectly relaxing day!

Tuesday
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books I finished: The Wonder by Emma Donoghue, The Vegetarian by Han Kang
Books I started: Cat Got Your Diamonds (Kitty Couture Mystery, #1) by Julie Chase (ebook), Boundless by Kenneth Oppel (physical book)
Thoughts: Not a great day for reading. I did finish one book that I had 30 pages left in, but really didn’t get too far into my next couple reads since I spent my free time catching up on Westworld instead of reading. Definitely plan to do more reading on Wednesday!

Wednesday & Thursday
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books I finished: The Wonder by Emma Donoghue, The Vegetarian by Han Kang
Books I started: Cat Got Your Diamonds (Kitty Couture Mystery, #1) by Julie Chase (ebook), Boundless by Kenneth Oppel (physical book)
Thoughts: Again, not great for reading, but I did read … made it about 35% into CGYD and made an embarrassingly small dent in Boundless. I’ve been sick all week so I’ve been watching Vikings and commenting on blogs, but I do still plan to reach that 3 books!

Are you participating in Bout of Books this month? 

8 thoughts on “Bout of Books 18.0: Start-Up and Goal Post (& Updates!)

  1. Finding reading time wherever you can is definitely the best way to do it. And I love starting the new year with this readathon! Such a fun way to kick off a year of reading! Good luck with all of your goals!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

