2017 Reading Goals: #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks And #OperationDoubleDigits

As I wrote the title for this post I realized that another goal for 2017 should be to actually write 2017 since I initially wrote 2016. I give myself until May to catch up on that one.

So. Last year I had tried to not buy books, or at least, try not to buy as many books as I had bought in the past. In the past, I’d go to bookstores and browse, coming home with at least 5 books, or I’d go to book sales and buy maybe 20 books on sale (the prices! they can’t be beat!). Or we’d be at the grocery store or drug store and I’d have to check out the books and would buy a couple. And don’t even ask me about my online shopping problem. Amazon and Indigo make it too easy to buy books online!

However, in 2016 I did pretty good! If you look at my Goodreads stats of books bought in 2016 it was under 100 and I read close to 1/2 of them. I don’t really have a comparison of books bought in 2015 because I purged a whole bunch of books in early 2016 (a lot of which I had bought the previous year) and donated them to the local jail, but I know that number was WELL into the hundreds! So, buying only 84 books in 2016 and reading 39 of them is pretty darn good!

Now we enter 2017 and my bookish goals are changing yet again! I feel like I’m starting to get more of a grasp on buying books, trying to buy only the ones I really really want and not just going willy nilly in the store. In fact, my problem started to be e-books, since they’re sometimes such a great price! But, this year we’re definitely budgeting a lot more, which means the husband and I get our $20 each of free money each month and that’s it.

So. Goals.

1. #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks

Felicia, over at The Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog, started this hashtag, I think, and it’s brilliant. I have SO MANY books that I’ve bought in previous years and I need to read them, starting with the books I bought in 2016!

2. Read as I buy. 

Really, if I see a book and I MUST HAVE IT, then I should probably read it sooner rather than later, right? Instead of putting it on my shelf for months or years? I have hopes that by the end of 2017 I will have read the books I bought during the year (which will hopefully be less than 50, or even less than 30 would be great!) and then I won’t have to play catch up in the next year.

3. #OperationDoubleDigits

My current TBR of owned books is nearing 300 books. This is terrible! Through reading or purging, I plan to get this number down under 100. Honestly, it would be great to have a TBR of owned books of less than 30. That’s the dream!

4. Use the library! 

When it comes to buying books, I do have a bit of a plan for 2017. I have my wishlist on Goodreads and plan to only buy my favourite authors – they’re the priority. Other than that, I plan to use my library, either through Overdrive (where I can request the library purchase up to 5 titles every 30 days), or physical books. And if they don’t have it, I plan to see if I can get it through an interlibrary loan. And if I still can’t find a book I want, then I can either contemplate buying it (do I really need to read it right now?) or waiting (maybe the library will get it later, or I can request they buy the physical copy).

5. Try to use only certain $$ for books. 

So as I said, the husband and I each get our $20 of free money each month and I could use that towards books, or I could save it for something else. I have credits through the bookstore for books and plan to use those for some preorders, plus I have some gift cards from doing surveys that I can use for books. AND points through the drug store which I plan to use for books (since they do get some of the titles I have on my wishlist). So basically, my free $20 will be my last resort money. But in the end, the goal isn’t to buy ALL the books, but be more frugal with my spending and actually sit on a purchase before buying, instead of being so flighty with my money.

As for WHAT I’m planning on reading, I know I want to try and go with the flow as much as I can, though since I did a lot of that in 2016, I also want to be a little more conscious about what I’m reading.

  1. Be more diverse in my reading. I tend to go towards a lot of female, American authors. Mainly romance books, too. I’d like to read more LGBT books, or more books from different nationalities, more books by women of colour, and just try to break from my norm. Challenge myself a bit more in 2017.
  2. Read more books by male authors. I didn’t do too bad last year, but like I said in #1, I tend to go towards female authors, so I will try and work in more male authors this year.
  3. Read more Canada! I had planned on doing this in 2016 but didn’t do a great job of it. My Canada bookcase at home is mostly unread books so I want to make a dent in those.
  4. Along with this, like I said, I plan to read off my shelves and read the books I bought in 2016.

And those are my goals for the year! I plan to try and document my progress on the blog somehow and hopefully I’ll have great progress by the end of the year!

Have a wonderfully bookish 2017!

4 thoughts on “2017 Reading Goals: #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks And #OperationDoubleDigits

  1. I read alot of back list titles on my ereader this year, and found some books that I loved and couldn’t believe it took me so long to get to. I’m going to try and not buy as many or read as I buy them. Happy 2017!

    • Right? I was going through my Goodreads list of books I own and need to read and it was like shopping … a lot of the titles look so good! I can’t wait to get to them this year.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

