Beat The Backlist 2017 Challenge

btbchallengeslider

The Beat The Backlist 2017 Challenge is hosted by NovelKnight and from their blog, it is about:

The Beat the Backlist Challenge is focused on knocking off titles that have been on your TBR for a while, or even ones that get pushed aside for new releases. Over the years, and especially this one, we’ve noticed that new releases are getting more and more attention while our TBRs continue to grow. While we LOVE new releases, we also want to show some of those older titles love too.

This challenge doesn’t have levels or a set number of books you need to read.

YOU set your own reading goal. YOU pick the books. YOU read at your own pace.

The idea here isn’t to make this a competition, but to help you shrink your TBR with a bunch of other people doing the same thing.

Who isn’t trying to get their TBR pile knocked down to reasonable numbers? I know mine is ridiculous, at around 250 books (physical books, ebooks, and audiobooks). I know my list of books released in 2017 is steadily growing, but I have high hopes of having bookshelves full of actual READ books.

From the blog, here are the guidelines:

THIS CHALLENGE WILL RUN FROM JANUARY 1ST TO DECEMBER 31ST, 2017.
That’s right. You have an ENTIRE YEAR to complete your goal.

BOOKS MUST BE RELEASED PRIOR TO 2017
(this challenge isn’t for new releases)

That’s it! Those are the only guidelines!

We HIGHLY encourage you to post your reading updates throughout the year on your social media platform of choice using the hashtag #BeatTheBacklist!

Now, it has been suggested to put together a list of books that you’d like to get to in 2017 to clean up your TBR, BUT I’m not going to do that. I have purged my shelves many times over the past few years that I’m pretty sure most of them are books I want to read and I don’t want to limit myself to a certain title for the year because then I probably won’t read it.

HOWEVER, I’d like to try and read at least 40-50% of my books from my pre-2017 TBR.

What do you think? Can it be done? Can I stay on track? 

3 thoughts on “Beat The Backlist 2017 Challenge

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

