[Book Talk] The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

the-sun-is-also-a-starBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Borrowed
Read: December 2016

Synopsis:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

My Thoughts

This book. THIS BOOK!

So I didn’t read a lot of YA this year, mainly because I just wasn’t feeling a lot of the titles I had tried to read, but mostly because I was reading based on my mood, which was leading me towards a LOT of romance and contemporary books.

But THIS book, I can’t even remember what led me to it – if you’ve read the book, you would say, obviously the UNIVERSE led me to read it, right? I am so happy that I sat down to read this one. Honestly, at first I wondered if I could stay with it since my head was like, “It’s YA, remember? We haven’t read much of that. You WON’T enjoy it.” But sometimes you have to go with the heart, too, and right off the bat I loved the story of two teens, Daniel and Natasha, who meet through a series of events. This is also the book that made me want to read more diversely in 2017 because this story of a young Jamaican girl and a young Korean American boy was amazing.

The thing I loved about it is the feeling of everything being connected, how everything not only happens for a reason, but it’s like the universe pushing you towards the exact thing you are to do, or the person you are to be with, or in the same sense, AWAY from something that could be harmful. And even the harmful things, or bad things, how they are supposed to happen. It really made me think about life and how things happen and how we are all part of each other’s stories. There were so many theories about the universe and love and fate and alternate universes that I just wanted to lose myself in the pages of the story and find other books exactly like this one.

If you haven’t read this book, you have to. Really. It’s amazing and Nicola Yoon is so freaking talented – you have to have her on your shelf!

3 thoughts on “[Book Talk] The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

  1. I’m so glad you loved The Sun is Also a Star! I’ve been seeing amazing reviews for this one each and every day, and each one makes me want to read it more and more! I absolutely loved Everything, Everything, so I have high expectations😉 . Great review!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

