[Book Talk] The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel

the-boundlessBook Details:

Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
Read: January 2017

Synopsis:

All aboard for an action-packed escapade from the internationally bestselling author of Airborne and the Silverwing trilogy.

The Boundless, the greatest train ever built, is on its maiden voyage across the country, and first-class passenger Will Everett is about to embark on the adventure of his life!

When Will ends up in possession of the key to a train car containing priceless treasures, he becomes the target of sinister figures from his past.

In order to survive, Will must join a traveling circus, enlisting the aid of Mr. Dorian, the ringmaster and leader of the troupe, and Maren, a girl his age who is an expert escape artist. With villains fast on their heels, can Will and Maren reach Will’s father and save The Boundless before someone winds up dead?

My Thoughts

I remember buying this book not only because it was by Canadian author, Kenneth Oppel, but also because it was absolutely beautiful! My son loved looking at this book while I read it because it features a train on the gorgeous cover, as well as a train on the inside of the front and back covers. I loved the book because it had a built in bookmark. How do all books not have this already? It was genius! I had to train myself to use a bookmark once I finished and started my next book which, sadly, did NOT have a built in bookmark.

Anyway, this was a lot of fun, though my attention did wander while reading it. I’m not sure what it was but I just wasn’t totally invested in reading this book. I did enjoy the story, with the train, the circus, the adventure; but when I put it down I was clamouring for something else to read. The one thing I really did love was its focus on Canada and the history of the railroad in Canada. I have not only traveled on our VIA Rail, but also went to an IMAX presentation of the Canadian Railway and it was absolutely fascinating. As I read this book, I wanted to see if I could find that IMAX video to watch because really, who doesn’t love trains?

I think my issues with this book were only slightly with the writing (which seemed different from his previous series I had read) but also with the age it was targeted to. I love a good middle grade book, but I guess they just can’t hold my interest now. However, this was still a fun adventure and an interesting read. It made me long to take a train ride through the Canadian rockies and prairies! And it’s going to be so pretty on my shelf, too.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

