[Book Talk] Cat Got Your Diamonds (Kitty Couture Mystery, #1) by Julie Chase

cat-got-your-diamondsBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Bought
Read: January 2017

Synopsis:

Grandeur and opulence are everything in the famed New Orleans Garden District where pets are family and no bling is too big. Opening Furry Godmother, pet boutique and organic treat bakery, is Lacy Marie Crocker’s dream come true–until the glitter gun used to make her Shih Tzu tutus becomes a murder weapon. And Lacy becomes public enemy #1.

Now Detective Jack Oliver is hounding Lacy, and her Furry Godmother investor wants out before his name is tarnished by association. To make matters worse, a string of jewel heists with suspicious ties to the murder case has New Orleans residents on edge. To save her dream, Lacy must take a stand, put her keen eyes to work, and unravel what really happened at her shop that night. But can Lacy sniff out the killer cat burglar in time to get her tail-raising designs on the catwalk?

Witty and whimsical, Cat Got Your Diamonds, the first in a new cozy series by Julie Chase, will be the cat’s meow for fans of Rita Mae Brown and Miranda James.

My Thoughts

So I absolutely love Julie Anne Lindsey’s Geek Girl Mystery series, so when I heard that she wrote under a pseudonym, Julie Chase, to write this new Kitty Couture Mystery series, I was in! It was an enjoyable first book in a new series, though I think what drew me into her Geek Girl books was the fact that the main character was a bit of a nerd. The main character of this book, Lacy, is not a nerd, but instead works in fashion … animal fashion.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I know there are people who love to dress up their animals. I am NOT one of those people. I never did understand the appeal of it, maybe because my dogs have all been big and liked to romp around outside getting dirty. Dogs wearing poodle skirts, tiaras, and other glittery outfits just had me shaking my head at the craziness of some people (because even though this is fiction, you KNOW there are people who do this shit in real life) but also wondering how the hell Lacy made any sort of living selling this stuff. And is it really in this much of demand?

Anyway, that seemed to be the distracting point of the story for me, though I did love the mystery part. I loved the chemistry between Lacy and sexy detective Jack (even though I hated that he called her kitten – is that supposed to be part of the title, since there really weren’t any cats …), but while reading it I also realized why I tend to read cozy mysteries that are more about fibre arts – because I actually do those things and understand them. There was a definite lack of understanding on my part in this story and it was distracting.

I probably won’t continue on with this series but I was happy to read another book by a favourite author. I might have predicted some of the ending earlier on while reading, but it was still fun to read (despite my issues). And it made me want to try some more books by Julie since she does have some fun books!

Advertisements

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s