[Audiobook Talk] When I Fall In Love by Miranda Dickinson

when-i-fall-in-loveAudiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Bought
Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Length: 13 hours 8 minutes
Read: January 2017

Synopsis:

Elsie Maynard never expected to be starting again…

…but eighteen months on from the biggest challenge of her life, she is doing just that –because she made a promise to the person who believed in her the most.

Determined to step into her uncertain future, Elsie meets handsome Oliver Hogarth, who seems intent on winning her heart; she inadvertently founds a choir, and overcomes obstacles – most of which involve arrogant Torin Stewart.

Then a heartfelt request brings her to Paris – and the final item on ‘The List’ that she never dared complete.

Can Elsie follow her heart and put her past to rest?

My Thoughts

Oh my goodness, I loved this book! I think I had found it when I was looking for Christmas books and the requests always seemed to take me to British authors. I had some credits to use up at Audible and thought I’d get one of the higher rated titles with a credit and I was so glad I picked this title! I think I’ve found a new favourite author in Miranda Dickinson.

What did I love about this book? What’s NOT to love? The narration was amazing and so British, which I loved – as was the book. I loved all of the characters, all of them in love or searching for love, but in the meantime they decided to form a choir. Being a music lover, this was great. I only thought I was missing out by not hearing any of their renditions via audiobook (seriously, how cool would that be?). There’s loss, love, friendship, relationships between siblings and parents … I loved it all. And the romance! This was a bit of a tricky book with that, since I don’t want to give anything away, but the romance was good – so freaking sweet and lovely. It was nice that it wasn’t just a silly chick lit novel, but there was some major heartbreaking substance to it.

I can’t wait to read more by Miranda – she’s right up there with my favourites, Sophie Kinsella, Lucy Diamond, Jenny Colgan. If I wasn’t on a book buying ban, I would totally go and buy all of her books right now! As it is, I can see myself requesting lots of them from the library!

Audiobook Notes: 

Like I said above, the narration for this book was perfect! Penelope Rawlins does such a great job of bringing the whole story to life and I’m really not sure if I would’ve loved it as much as I did if I had read the physical format. It was such a treat to listen to!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

