[Book Talk] Since You’ve Been Gone by Anouska Knight

since-youve-been-goneBook Details:

Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Read: January 2017

Synopsis:

How do you learn to love again?

In one tragic moment, Holly Jefferson s life as she knows it changes for ever. Now to the external world, at least she s finally getting back on her feet, running her business, Cake. Then she meets Ciaran Argyll.

His rich and charmed life feels a million miles from her own. However, there s more to Ciaran than the superficial world that surrounds him, and he too is wrestling with his own ghosts. Will Holly find the missing ingredient that allows her to live again and embrace an unknown and unexpected tomorrow?

My Thoughts

When I was cleaning my bookshelves at the beginning of the year, I came across a few rogue books that hadn’t been logged anywhere, though I knew exactly where I had got them – the drug store. I kind of love buying books at the drug store because they have a nice range of books from your typical romance books, to mysteries, to cookbooks, to kids books, to YA books, to contemporary books. It’s like a mini-mini-bookstore! And what better to do while I wait for a prescription than to look at books?

Once I read the synopsis I knew this was a “me” book since this is exactly the kind of book I’m drawn to. And I’m happy to say that I really enjoyed reading it! I loved Holly, though I was so sad for what she was going through. I loved Dave, her giant dog (and can totally relate to the slobber!). I loved Fergie and Ciaran – and I loved that Ciaran wasn’t your typical bad-boy male lead. I loved the cake shop and Jesse (and oh my gosh did I ever feel like cake while reading this!). And I love that the book wasn’t only about getting over a lost love, but finding yourself again after losing someone you love.

The only thing I really wished for by the end of this book was more words between Ciaran and Holly. There was a lot of talk from Holly about not being able to move on, but it felt like a lot of persuading to get words of love out. But there were great gestures and I loved the theme of family throughout the book. It wasn’t as deep of a book as it could’ve been, and it wasn’t quite as romantic as it could’ve been, but it was a happy in-between. It was perfect for a weekend read!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

