[Book Talk] Maze of Souls (Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper, #6) by J. L. Bryan

maze-of-soulsBook Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Purchased
Read: January 2017

Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper series

  1. Ellie Jordan: Ghost Trapper
  2. Cold Shadows
  3. The Crawling Darkness
  4. Terminal
  5. House of Whispers (no review)
  6. Maze of Souls

Synopsis:

It’s October, and down at newly opened Pine Hollow Farm, the ghosts are running wild!. This “genuine” old-time family farm offers a big heap of fun fall activities. You can drink cider fresh from the orchard, enter a pumpkin-carving contest, and explore the five-acre corn maze. At night, if you aren’t too scared, join the haunted hayride through the woods, featuring a genuine eighteenth-century cemetery. According to local legend, the ghost of a horseman has ridden the old dirt road through the woods for nearly two centuries, menacing travelers. Hayriders beware!

Then the real ghosts start to come out, threatening visitors to the farm and the family who live there. Paranormal detective Ellie Jordan travels out to the remote farm to root out the dangerous spirits. Ellie and her assistant Stacey must move fast, because the night is coming when all ghosts will be at full strength and free to roam—the night of Halloween.

My Thoughts

I am loving this series by J. L. Bryan! Fall is my favourite time of year and I’ve always loved reading about things that go bump in the night (even when they keep me up in the night). This book made me terrified for corn mazes in my future — it’s something I won’t be going into one for a while!

Ellie is still an amazing, kick butt character, and I love the humour between her and Stacey. I’m still not totally convinced that they both need relationships, but I guess it’s the norm as series like this continue on. And Ellie has the shittiest of luck, it seems, when it comes to bringing people close to her – you definitely need to have read the previous books in this series to follow what’s going on in this regard!

Since I love spooky books so much, I hope this series continues on for many more books! J. L. Bryan writes super spooky books and who doesn’t love a good ghost story?

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

