[Book Talk] By Your Side by Kasie West

by-your-sideBook Details:

Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

My Thoughts

This was so good! I was on Twitter one day and a friend of mine was talking about reading a Kasie West book and having read a few myself, we had got to talking about how awesome she is. Then I was at the bookstore, having decided to buy a few books finally this year (my goal had been to NOT buy any books since I’m working on my pre-2017 TBR) and I remembered the conversation and decided to scope out the Kasie West section and saw this one and bought it. I’m so happy I did!

I read this book in one day and it was just so fantastic. It’s funny because the whole premise is about Autumn and Dax being stuck in the library, so you’d think it would be a booklover’s dream, but it’s really not about the books at all. It’s about friendship, and family, and love, and just so much in between. I loved the whole thing and after finishing it, I had to see what else I still had to read by Kasie West because I wanted more of her stories. She really does remind me of Morgan Matson or Sarah Dessen in her writing; not only is her writing lovely, but her stories are relatable and compelling and just suck you in from the first page.

I’m also glad that this whole book didn’t take place in the library. I think it would have been just a cute read had it happened like that, maybe a nice little romance, but there was so much more to it. I love that the second half took place outside of the library and it was like Autumn and Dax had to figure out who they were to each other after some big things happened. I kind of had an inkling of what was going to happen in the end, and some of my predictions came true, but it was still such an enjoyable read through to the end.

If you’ve never read any Kasie West, I highly recommend her books!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

