[Book Talk] Paris For One & Other Stories by Jojo Moyes

paris-for-oneBook Details:

Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

From the #1 “New York Times” bestselling author of “Me Before You” and “After You,” a sensational collection featuring the title novella and eight other stories. Quintessential Jojo Moyes, “Paris for One and Other Stories” is an irresistibly romantic collection filled with humor and heart.

Nell is twenty-six and has never been to Paris. She’s never even been on a romantic weekend away to anywhere before. Everyone knows travelling abroad isn’t really her thing. But when Nell’s boyfriend fails to show up for their romantic mini-vacation, she has the opportunity to prove everyone including herself wrong. Alone and in Paris, Nell uncovers a version of herself she never knew existed: independent and intrepid. Could this turn out to be the most adventurous weekend of her life? Funny, charming, and irresistible, “Paris for One”is vintage Moyes as are the other stories that round out the collection.”

My Thoughts

I almost – almost – didn’t buy this book. Actually, I almost didn’t even read it. But then I read another one of Jojo Moyes’s books and fell in love with it and was reminded of how much I love her, and while I was wandering the book store one day I saw this one on the shelf and just had to buy it!

I loved this collection of stories and gobbled them up in a couple days. The first story is the longest and is the title story of the book and it was just so perfect! I loved Nell and Paris and how she was so scared to go on her own but found herself while she was there and the person she wanted to be – not to mention, the life she wanted to live. I was so happy that the kids slept the whole time it took me to read the first story because it is definitely one to read in one sitting.

As for the other stories in the book, they were all brilliant in their own way and I think my favourite one was The Christmas List, the very last story in the book, that led me wanting more – I really hope that can get expanded into a longer story one day because it was amazing! I hope that Jojo Moyes comes out with more short story collections because this is one that I’m so happy to have with my collection. Highly recommended!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

