[Audiobook Talk] Call The Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (The Midwife Trilogy, #1) by Jennifer Worth

call-the-midwifeAudiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook & Paperback
Source: Library & Bought
Narrator: Nicola Barber
Length: 12 hours 2 minutes
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

An unforgettable story of the joy of motherhood, the bravery of a community, and the hope of one extraordinary woman

At the age of twenty-two, Jennifer Worth leaves her comfortable home to move into a convent and become a midwife in post war London’s East End slums. The colorful characters she meets while delivering babies all over London-from the plucky, warm-hearted nuns with whom she lives to the woman with twenty-four children who can’t speak English to the prostitutes and dockers of the city’s seedier side-illuminate a fascinating time in history. Beautifully written and utterly moving, The Midwife will touch the hearts of anyone who is, and everyone who has, a mother.

My Thoughts

I knew about Jennifer Worth’s memoirs after hearing about the TV show Call The Midwife and bought the first book after watching it on Netflix. I was a little scared of reading the book after watching the show, thinking I wouldn’t enjoy it as much, or that it might make me love the show less (the show is brilliant, if you’ve never seen it), but I’m happy to say that the book is amazing! It was kind of like reliving the show and It was nice to see the different characters in my head (well, the characters based on the TV show).

I loved listening to this book and gobbled it up in one day and after finishing, I wanted to read the next two in the trilogy! I love reading about the history of midwives, the hardships that Jennifer Worth lived through in her early days as a midwife, and really, the stories that she tells are compelling, sad, beautiful, and heartbreaking. As someone who has gone through two births, it’s amazing to hear how it was all done back in the day before modern medicine was the latest and greatest thing.

I definitely recommend this book!

Audiobook Notes: 

The audiobook narration was a little off-putting at first, but I’m glad I persevered because the narrator grew on me. Nicola Barber reads this story beautifully, but she has a very strong accent and it was read very softly at first. It took a bit to get used to and I almost, *almost* put this book down and read the physical copy. I’m glad I didn’t because having those different London accents really adds to the story and, like I said, it was like being right there, watching the show as it took place. I’m not sure I would instantly flock towards more of her narrations but will probably be sure to listen to a sample first.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

