[Book Talk] My (Not So) Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

my-not-so-perfect-lifeBook Details:

Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

Katie Brenner has the perfect life: a flat in London, a glamorous job, and a super-cool Instagram feed.

Ok, so the real truth is that she rents a tiny room with no space for a wardrobe, has a hideous commute to a lowly admin job, and the life she shares on Instagram isn’t really hers.

But one day her dreams are bound to come true, aren’t they?

Until her not-so perfect life comes crashing down when her mega-successful boss Demeter gives her the sack. All Katie’s hopes are shattered. She has to move home to Somerset, where she helps her dad with his new glamping business.

Then Demeter and her family book in for a holiday, and Katie sees her chance. But should she get revenge on the woman who ruined her dreams? Or try to get her job back? Does Demeter – the woman with everything – have such an idyllic life herself? Maybe they have more in common than it seems.

And what’s wrong with not-so-perfect, anyway?

My Thoughts

Whenever I start a new Sophie Kinsella book I wonder, is this going to be the one Sophie Kinsella book I hate? And you know what? It NEVER happens! She’s amazing! And within just a few pages of reading a new book, I fall in love with the writing, the characters, and just with Sophie in general. Her books are taking over an entire shelf on my bookcase and I’m so happy about it. My mom used to love Danielle Steele and I feel like Sophie Kinsella will be my Danielle Steele.

This book was amazing. I loved Katie — Kat — and her struggles trying to find out who she is and make her mark on the world. I loved her boss and her love interest, and everything they went through together. Her boss was definitely like something out of The Devil Wears Prada, but I feel like the whole book was about not judging a book by its cover. It’s like Facebook — everything can seem perfect on the outside, or by what we post to share with friends, but we’re all just human underneath and we all have struggles.

I loved everything about this book, but I think my favourite thing was that I felt like I was there. When Katie was in London, I felt like I was there with her, and when she was on the farm, I felt like I was there, too. I could picture it all in my head, and I could feel the breeze on my face. I know it sounds cheesy, but Sophie Kinsella just writes such a good story that I can’t help getting sucked up into it. And now that I’ve finished, I want her next book to be released soon. I look forward to everything she puts out and she will definitely always be on my auto-buy list and a favourite author!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

