[Audiobook Talk] All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all-the-bright-placesAudiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook & Hardcover
Source: Library & Bought
Narrator: Kirby Heyborne, Ariadne Meyers
Length: 11 hours 4 minutes
Read: February 2017

Synopsis:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

My Thoughts

I have tons of books on my shelf that I can vaguely recall what they’re supposed to be about. So when I start reading them, I sort of know what to expect. But with this book, I had NO idea. I just knew that my library had the audiobook and since I had the hardcover I figured I’d listen to the book to knock it off my shelf.

This book is hard to describe. It’s weird to say that it was a pleasant surprise because I sobbed while reading it, but it was definitely one of those books that I wasn’t expecting. I loved the relationships in it, the misunderstood characters, the secrets, the romance, and all the events that brought tears to my eyes. Seriously, this whole story is heartbreaking and I can’t believe I didn’t get to it sooner.

Audiobook Notes: 

Kirby and Ariadne did a fantastic job of narrating this beautiful story! I felt like they were both really great at getting the emotion of both of the characters across and you could really hear the brokenness of them through the narration.

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

The Graduated Bookworm Blogger
Readers In Wonderland
A Book Is A Girl’s Best Friend

Advertisements

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s