[Audiobook Talk] The Knockoff by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza

Audiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Bought
Narrator: Katherine Kellgren
Length: 12 hours 10 minutes
Read: March 2017

Synopsis:

An outrageously stylish, wickedly funny novel of fashion in the digital age, The Knockoff is the story of Imogen Tate, editor in chief of Glossy magazine, who finds her twentysomething former assistant Eve Morton plotting to knock Imogen off her pedestal, take over her job, and reduce the magazine, famous for its lavish 768-page September issue, into an app.

When Imogen returns to work at Glossy after six months away, she can barely recognize her own magazine. Eve, fresh out of Harvard Business School, has fired “the gray hairs,” put the managing editor in a supply closet, stopped using the landlines, and hired a bevy of manicured and questionably attired underlings who text and tweet their way through meetings. Imogen, darling of the fashion world, may have Alexander Wang and Diane von Furstenberg on speed dial, but she can’t tell Facebook from Foursquare and once got her iPhone stuck in Japanese for two days. Under Eve’s reign, Glossy is rapidly becoming a digital sweatshop—hackathons rage all night, girls who sleep get fired, and “fun” means mandatory, company-wide coordinated dances to Beyoncé. Wildly out of her depth, Imogen faces a choice—pack up her Smythson notebooks and quit, or channel her inner geek and take on Eve to save both the magazine and her career. A glittering, uproarious, sharply drawn story filled with thinly veiled fashion personalities, The Knockoff is an insider’s look at the ever-changing world of fashion and a fabulous romp for our Internet-addicted age.

My Thoughts

This was so much fun! I had some Audible credits left towards the end of last year and got this one because of the high rating and the fact that one of my favourite narrators, Katherine Kellgren, was narrating.

It was great! Katherine is a phenomenal narrator and just added so much life to the story and it was kind of like The Devil Wears Prada and it kind of made me think of when I eventually (but hopefully not) go back to work and how crazy out of the loop I would feel with technology and social media. I mean, I love my social media but I am FAR from a pro at it.

I loved Imogen’s character and how she still clung to the “old fashioned” way of doing things, with face to face meetings, phone calls, and just caring about the people she does business with rather than doing everything as fast as she could, with as much proficiency as possible. I loved how she adapted to the “new” way of doing things and figured out how to fit into the new business world.

Seriously so much fun – I’m glad I got this one!

Audiobook Notes: 

Like I said above, Katherine was fantastic! I read a few reviews that said she took something away from the story, since she can be quite dramatic in her readings, but I love her so much. Seriously, I would listen to Katherine read me grocery lists because she just cracks me up with the way she brings out the humour and emotion in a story. She just knows how to make the characters come alive!

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

Literary Treats
Evil Overlord Thoughts
My Name is Not Katie

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

