[Audiobook Talk] Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2) by Rae Carson

Audiobook Details

Format: Audiobook & Hardcover
Source: Library & Purchased
Narrator: Erin Mallon
Length: 10 hours 27 minutes
Read: March 2017

The Gold Seer series

  1. Walk on Earth a Stranger
  2. Like a River Glorious
  3. Into the Bright Unknown (October 2017)

Synopsis:

After a harrowing journey across the country, Leah Westfall and her friends have finally arrived in California and are ready to make their fortunes in the Gold Rush. Lee has a special advantage over the other new arrivals in California—she has the ability to sense gold, a secret known only by her handsome best friend Jefferson and her murdering uncle Hiram.

Lee and her friends have the chance to be the most prosperous settlers in California, but Hiram hasn’t given up trying to control Lee and her power. Sabotage and kidnapping are the least of what he’ll do to make sure Lee is his own. His mine is the deepest and darkest in the territory, and there Lee learns the full extent of her magical gift, the worst of her uncle, and the true strength of her friendships. To save everyone, she vows to destroy her uncle and the empire he is building—even at the cost of her own freedom.

The second epic historical fantasy in the Gold Seer trilogy by Rae Carson, the acclaimed author of The Girl of Fire and Thorns.

My Thoughts

I am loving this series! There are so many YA books out there that are dystopian or about witches or vampires or other supernatural creatures, but there aren’t many that are historical – or at least, not many that I’ve found. I love that this one takes place during the gold rush and has just the teensiest bit of magic to it.

I own both of the books in this series, but I’ve been listening to the audiobooks, which are pretty awesome. It’s weird because once I start listening, I can’t stop thinking of the show Westworld, since the main character just has that sound about her, like the main character in the show. I can just picture the scenery in Westworld in my head as I listened to this book and maybe the man in black as evil Hiram?

The last book should be interesting and I’m glad I’m keeping up with the series. Rae Carson writes a great story. You’d think that historicals could get a little boring, but she makes it so fun and interesting, with great characters, adventure, romance. This series is definitely a must read!

Audiobook Notes: 

I’m fairly certain I listened to the first book on audio, too, and frankly I’m loving the narration! I think Erin Mellon does a great job of giving voices to these characters and they really sound “of the time period,” if that makes sense. She didn’t just read the story, either, but conveyed great emotion where it was needed. Her pacing was spot on and I just really enjoyed the reading and will check out other titles narrated by Erin in the future!

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews!

Novel Heartbeat
Pure Imagination
One Way Or An Author
Writing My Own Fairytale

2 thoughts on “[Audiobook Talk] Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2) by Rae Carson

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

