[Read-a-Thon] Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon!

I am so excited that it’s readathon time! In previous years, I’ve participated unofficially, but this year I’m finally signing up again! The last time I officially participated was back when I was pregnant with my son waaaaay back in 2013!

What’s this read-a-thon all about? 

For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs, Twitters, Instagrams, Litsy, Facebook, Goodreads and MORE about our reading, and visit other readers’ homes online. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

Sounds fun, huh?

If you want to sign up, you can visit the official webpage for the read-a-thon.

My time dedicated to reading

So, it’s going to be a little tricky to participate because I have two toddlers under 3 AND my husband is working, so it’s just me and the kids all day long! My reading time starts at 6:00 a.m. so I’ll be starting earlier, probably 5:00 when I get up, to get a few hours before the kids get up. I’ll also be giving them a movie or two during the day to get some physical book reading done AND I think I’ll do lots of housework so I can listen to an audiobook and actually get something done (and moving around is good, too!)! Plus, I was thinking the kids and I might go get “timbits” (donut holes) AND maybe get lunch so I don’t have to cook for them AND I can listen to more audiobook! Let’s just say I’ll be doing some lazy “mom-ing” on read-a-thon day! They also nap for a few hours AND are in bed just after 7:00 so I’ll try and stay up a little later! Though I definitely won’t be staying up until 6:00 a.m.!

What I’m planning on reading

In previous years, I’ve always picked something really big to read and then I get burned out from reading that book and my reading slows down. Since I’m not sure what I’ll be in the mood for and I have bits and pieces of time throughout the day the read and not a lot of long stretches, I picked a LOT of books to choose from! Nothing long and even a collection of stories to break up the pace!

Here’s what I’ll be choosing from for physical books:

I’m also going to do an audiobook and picked out a few from the library:

Personally, I LOVE Doctor Who audiobooks and they’re perfect for read-a-thons! They’re super short, especially when you speed them up – plus, The Resurrection Casket is narrated by David Tennant and The Runaway Train by Matt Smith, so I’m betting they’re going to be a lot of fun! I also added To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before because I remember loving the first book but I never did continue on with the series, so I want to do a reread!

Honestly, I don’t know how much I’ll get to read, but I’m hoping for all of the audiobooks, plus maybe 1-2 other books? Maybe? Am I being too hopeful?

Snacks! 

Since I have the kids all day (normally I’d pawn them off on the husband and go to the library to get read-a-thon reading done!) we’ll get timbits (donut holes) just for an excuse to drive with an audiobook, and we’ll probably get take out for lunch. I know, mom of the year over here, but for one day, mama has some reading to do! We also have popcorn (Angie’s from Costco, it’s fantastic!) and I plan on cheese and crackers, apples, and lots of tea and coffee. I’m going to do pizza for supper since it’s easy enough to make and I’ll probably make breakfast ahead, like some oatmeal cups for me and the kids – something easy with little to no prep!

Updates

I will be updating on both Twitter and Facebook and will do a final update on the Sunday after the read-a-thon on the blog! Feel free to follow me on either one (or both!)!

Are you participating in this read-a-thon? What do you plan to read? 

3 thoughts on “[Read-a-Thon] Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

