[Bookish Spotlight] Required Readings: TV Edition

One thing I am LOVING lately is all of the TV shows and movies that are being based on books! I’m so far behind on my watching and still need to catch up on the Shadowhunters show (though I’ve finally caught up with all of the books!) and I still need to see A Monster Calls (an AMAZING book, if you haven’t read it), and don’t even get me started on Thirteen Reasons Why – a book I loved, but STILL haven’t watch the Netflix series of. I seriously need more hours in the day!

There are some TV shows both already playing and coming to TV soon in the next few weeks and I have some rereading to do for two of them, as well as a BIG BOOK to read for another.

First up on my list to read is actually a reread for me and that’s The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I am BEYOND excited to watch this show because I loved the book when I first read it way back before I even started blogging. I’m hoping that I still love it, especially since it’s been nearly 10 years since I first read it. I wouldn’t say I’m overly into dystopian books, but I know this one is a classic and I definitely need a refresher before watching the show.

The next book I plan to read is American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I am a HUGE Neil Gaiman fan (which you would definitely know if you follow my blog!) and I bought the author’s edition of this book way back in 2013. Back then, I had no idea that this book was going to be a TV show but it was just too pretty to pass up. I’m a little nervous since it’s quite a big book and I know Neil Gaiman can be a little crazy and different in his writing, BUT I have seen so many people RAVE about this book that I can’t wait to give it a go!

Next up is a reread for me and that’s of Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Mongomery – a Canadian classic. I listened to this on audiobook back in 2014 and loved it. Currently, I’m three episodes into the TV show and I really, really love it. I hope I’m not alone in adoring this show, but I haven’t actually watched the original (though, who knows, my memory is so terrible that I could have watched it when I was younger and just don’t remember) so I don’t have anything to compare it to. I just love how raw this show is and that it’s not all just light and fluffy, but it has deep roots and major emotions. Since it’s been so long since I’ve read the book I definitely want to reread it as I watch the show.

Do you know of any other shows based on books coming out soon? What are you most excited for? 

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

