[Audiobook Talk] Heartless (Parasol Protectorate, #4) by Gail Carriger

Audiobook Details

Format: Audiobook
Source: Borrowed
Narrator: Emily Gray
Length: 11 hours 19 minutes
Read: March 2017

Parasol Protectorate series

  1. Soulless
  2. Changeless
  3. Blameless
  4. Heartless
  5. Timeless

Synopsis:

Lady Alexia Maccon, soulless, is at it again, only this time the trouble is not her fault. When a mad ghost threatens the queen, Alexia is on the case, following a trail that leads her deep into her husband’s past. Top that off with a sister who has joined the suffragette movement (shocking!), Madame Lefoux’s latest mechanical invention, and a plague of zombie porcupines and Alexia barely has time to remember she happens to be eight months pregnant.

Will Alexia manage to determine who is trying to kill Queen Victoria before it is too late? Is it the vampires again or is there a traitor lurking about in wolf’s clothing? And what, exactly, has taken up residence in Lord Akeldama’s second best closet?

My Thoughts

This was so much fun! I don’t know why I ever put off reading a Gail Carriger book because once I start, I fall in love. Alexia Maccon is just an amazing character – she’s smart, funny, and absolutely hilarious when she’s pregnant! I love her nickname for the “infant inconvenience” and how she’s even so badass when she’s ready to give birth.

And that ending?!?! I need more! I’m so excited not only to finish this series, but to read the prequel and the sequel spin off series for it.

I love the relationship between Alexia and Conall … they love each other so much but there’s still so much bickering between them that it’s like any normal relationship. Well, as normal as any relationship between a wolf and a soulless can be. Their little quips to one another just cracked me up and I will be so sad to see them go once the next book is finished.

Audiobook Notes: 

Emily Gray is such a great narrator. She’s kind of like Katherine Kellgren when it comes to narrating and just makes the story that much more perfect. I haven’t checked out the audiobooks for the other series, but I’m hoping that she narrates them, too! The only weird thing with the audiobook is that there are weird pauses in between tracks — they don’t change tracks at a chapter beginning, so there would be a conversation happening and an awkward pause while the track changed. BUT if you look past that, these are so well worth reading via audiobook!

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

The Lit Bitch
Rally the Readers

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

