[Read-A-Thon] Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon Final Update!

Yesterday I participated in Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon for the 3rd time, I believe. It was so much fun! I honestly didn’t think I would get to do very much reading, what with two littles under three at home, but with the help of audiobooks, comics, and poetry, I read for a whopping 18.5 hours total!

Final Stats: 

Books Read: 7
2 novels, 2 audiobooks, 2 comic collections, 1 book of poetry
1,149 pages read, 6 hours listened

 

What I Read & Book Thoughts: 

  
 

The Summer After You and Me by Jennifer Salvator Doktorski – I loved this one! It was the perfect first read because it was so summery and perfect. I know some people will gripe since there are tons of things that happen that are predictable, but I thought the whole read was enjoyable and I gobbled it up in just a few hours.

Doctor Who: The Resurrection Casket by Justin Richards – Another fun Doctor Who romp, narrated by David Tennant, who is always fabulous. I love listening to these, even if they’re just short, fun, and not with a lot of depth. It’s fun having the actors who played the Doctor narrate because it really makes you feel like you’re right there in the story – or at least watching on TV. This story reminded me a bit of the movie Home, but it was still a fun short listen!

Adulthood is a Myth and Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen – Oh my gosh, these were so cute! I’ve seen Sarah’s work here and there on Facebook and other social media, but this is the first time I’ve read anything of hers. The cartoons were adorable and relatable. I read these and thought we could be friends, if only we both weren’t so introverted. So much fun!

Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur – I’ve seen lots of people reading this one and saying how wonderful it was, and they are so right! This was a wonderful collection, broken into four different sections, full of poetry, prose, and illustrations. It was immensely powerful and definitely a collection of poetry that will have you thinking afterwards. I liked how the whole collection was very cohesive and had lots of light and dark. This is well worth the hype! Definitely recommended!

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid – I’ve had this one on my radar for quite a long time now, since I love road trip books. I’m kind of glad that I didn’t buy it, though, because it was just alright. The problem is that the story has mainly 5 characters, the main one being Leila. She runs into these strangers who all have problems and basically helps them before moving on. It was quite predictable and we didn’t really get to know anyone in depth. Leila is featured throughout and we don’t get her story until the end, but even still her character needed something more. The ending was ridiculous, too. The narration was alright, and I’m glad I listened to this on audiobook and finally got it off my list!

Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1) by Susan Dennard – I’ve seen for so long how amazing Susan Dennard is and I am so happy that I finally read something by her so that I can agree with everyone! I will admit, at first I wasn’t so sure I’d like reading it since it started off with the “walking Dead” and I’m really not a huge fan of zombies, but it was so much more than that. I loved the world she created, the family relationships, the romance, the Dead hunting. It was all so fabulous! I bought the first two books at a book sale and I’m eager to read the next one. I seriously finished this wanting to read everything Sarah’s released. She’s a great writer!

Here are my updates in pictures and tweets: 

Did you participate in the readathon? How did you do? 

3 thoughts on “[Read-A-Thon] Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon Final Update!

  1. Pingback: This Week In Books – April 26 – May 2, 2017 | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

