#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks2017 – April Update

April was a pretty nice month! We had Easter, which meant I overdid it on chocolate and dinners. The husband and I had a wonderful date day, where we wandered around the “big mall” for the day, had a nice relaxing lunch (where I got to read my book with a beer), and saw a movie (Going in Style).

Tome Topple was this month and I intended to read more than what I did, but my Outlander book, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, was huge and for some reason it takes me forever to read, with me covering maybe 3-4% of the book in an hour. I had started it in January and FINALLY finished it this month — only to want to immediately read the next one.

My kid had some fun school stuff this month. They had “Zoo 2 U” come to the school and I thought he was so brave, with a SNAKE on his shoulders. And then the “bug guy” came to the school and I squirmed as I saw the pictures of him petting a FREAKING TARANTULA. I swear, that kid is braver than I am! They also went to the aquarium at a local mall and he got to see his favourite animal — penguins! April has been so busy for him!

I tried not to force myself to overdo it with the reading and actually kept a slow pace when the weekends started to creep up (except Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon weekend – had to read then!), but I still ended up reading THIRTY-THREE books, with FIFTEEN of them being from my pre-2017 shelves! (For other stats, 5 of my read books were bought brand new this year, and 6 were library books, and 1 of those books was read right in the bookstore. lol)

Here’s what I LOVED* (of the books I owned before the year started):

I had lots of four star books this month, and just a few that hit five stars:

A Breath of Snow and Ashes was amazing. It may have been on my currently reading shelf for a solid three months, but when I finished it I instantly wanted more! I believe the next book to read in the series is the next John Grey book and then I have just two more HUGE tomes to catch up! Hopefully I can do that before the 9th book comes out!

A Madness So Discreet was a refreshing listen. I haven’t listened to a lot of historical thrillers so this one was a lot of fun. I think I got this one in a subscription box and just couldn’t part with it on any of my book purges because I loved the cover. SO glad I kept it and gave it a chance!

*All the books I loved are the ones from my pre-2017 TBR that have received 5 stars after reading. 

What did you read this month? Anything good? 

2 thoughts on “#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks2017 – April Update

  1. You are rocking this challenge! I’ve been doing a terrible job of updating my reading stats, so I am not entirely sure where I stand, but not nearly this good.
    If the “big mall” is THE big mall, I hope you took the chance to wander through the giant Chapters 🙂

    • I’m catching up on my reading stats today … I’ve been great at reading, but need to enter some info into spreadsheets. I’ve been slacking over the last month! And yes, it is THAT big mall. lol. I do love the giant Chapters!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

