This Week In Books – April 26 – May 2, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Foundthat lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.

 

What I Read:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Such a good book! I was crying by the end of it, which was wonderful since it was while waiting to pick up my kid at school. But I’m so so glad I finally read this one. It’s such a beautiful story and the audiobook is really good, narrated by Lin-Manuel Miranda!

A whole crapload of books for Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon! Read all my book thoughts on this post.

  

What I’m Currently Reading:

Strange The Dreamer (Strange The Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor – I’m really enjoying this one, even though I put it on hold last week for the readathon. This book is gorgeous on the outside, too; the cover is so smooth and shiny!

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See – I didn’t read Lisa See’s last book, but I’ve loved the three I’ve read in the past. I’m glad I picked this one up. I wasn’t sure I was in the mood for a historical and almost stopped listening after the first few minutes but I’m glad I kept listening. She’s such a great writer of historical fiction.

The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas – I’m really enjoying this one, too. It’s unbelievably heavy and hard to read but really good.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, #1) by Jenny Han – I first read this one three years ago, as an ARC, but I never continued on with the series so I figured it was time for a reread! I tried the audiobook on the weekend for the readathon but realized my library had the German copy, so I got the ebook. It’s soo good on a second reread!

What I Plan To Read Next: 

A Million Little Things (Mischief Bay, #3) by Susan Mallery – This is one of the books I bought this year and it’s the oldest one I’ve  bought and haven’t read yet, so I want to finally knock it off my shelf! I don’t quite remember what it’s about, but sisters, maybe? It looked good and I obviously bought it for a reason!

Miss You by Kate Eberlen – Not gonna lie, I totally bought this mostly for the cover, but I had been eyeing it for so long whenever I saw it in a drug store or book store, and then I heard that it was about two people who meet and ‘what if’ and those are my favourite kinds of books! I can’t wait to read this one. And have I mentioned how pretty it is?

Missing by Kelley Armstrong – Another one that I bought this year, which seems to be the theme of my next reads. I love Kelley’s work and I hope that this one is like The Masked Truth, which I loved.

What I’m Waiting For



As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen’s thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine.

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that’s why she’s cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm’s length. But Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged, now that he’s met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

June 6, 2017 | Vikings Books for Young Readers

I will read anything Sarah Dessen releases – her books are just so, so good! Lately, I fall in love with one her books and think the next one won’t be as good, and then the next is amazing, and the cycle continues! I love wedding books, too, so this one should be a lot of fun!

Bookish Links


What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

2 thoughts on “This Week In Books – April 26 – May 2, 2017

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

