This Week In Books – May 3rd – 9th, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found, that lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.

   
 

What I Read:

Not gonna lie, I had a pretty awesome reading week! I got hooked on audiobooks for the most part, finished a bunch of books I had been reading the week before, AND continued working through the books I bought this year. I really should be reading some of my pre-2017 owned TBR books but I’ve already read 74 of them so I’m not hurting in that department. I feel good that I’m reading the books I’ve bought this year and am trying to keep on top of them – I had a terrible habit of just letting them pile up!

Love & Gelato by Jenna Graves Welch – Definitely cute, and I loved the Italian vibe. And I really, really wanted to just have all the gelato while reading. Stracciatella is my FAVOURITE.

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See – Lisa See never disappoints and while this one had a few things about it that were either unbelievably or maybe a bit rushed, it was still a joy to listen to. Whenever I finish one of her books I want to read everything of hers I haven’t read yet.

Doctor Who: Nothing O’Clock by Neil Gaiman – I’ve totally read this before – the whole thing played out like a Doctor Who episode in my head as I read it and I was so confused about why I knew what was going on. Either way, still nice to listen to a second time around since I think I read it (undocumented) the first time.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – I went into this book after seeing all of the hype and knowing that instead of getting the library copy, it was a book I had to have on my shelf. I was right. It was a very unsettling, emotional, and necessary read.

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, #1) by Jenny Han – A reread for me! I read the first book at least 4 years ago and loved it but never did continue on with the series. Since the last book was coming out this month I figured I should do a reread and read the second book, too. So good the second time around! I love Lara Jean and her family!

P. S. I Still Love You (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, #2) by Jenny Han – Another adorable instalment to this series! I can’t wait to read the final book and see how it all ends!

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis – I went into this book not having any idea what it as about, so when I finished it I was at a complete loss for words. Just like The Hate U Give, this one was unsettling, disturbing, important, and just a complete surprise. This is the second book by McGinnis I’ve read this year and she has a very intriguing writing style.

Strange The Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor – I have to say, I liked this one, but didn’t love it. Laini Taylor is definitely a fantastic writer and while I enjoyed this story, I felt parts of it were too long, too drawn out, and I just didn’t feel the connection I like to feel when I read a book. On the fence on whether I’ll read the next book in this series.

The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1) by Renee Ahdieh – I had actually started this book months ago on audio, but then for some reason it didn’t grab me and I *almost* got rid of it! I started reading the physical book and thought it was really good – glad I didn’t give it up. Looking forward to the sequel now!

What I’m Currently Reading:

A Million Little Things (Mischief Bay, #3) by Susan Mallery – I didn’t realize that this was the third book in a series when I bought it, but I’m still really enjoying it! This is the oldest unread book I’ve bought this year so I’m happy to have finally gotten to it!

Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen – I won this book from Indigo Teen on a Twitter giveaway and since my library had the audiobook, I thought I’d borrow it instead of reading the physical book. It’s not bad so far! Heartbreaking, as a parent, to read, but still not bad. I’m glad I got the audio.

 

What I Plan To Read Next: 

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3) by Sarah J. Maas – Do I even need to say why I’m reading this next? Just got the book in the mail today and plan to start tomorrow! I’m sooooo excited to read this one!

The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion – Alright, I’m a little nervous going into this one because the reviews have not been so great, BUT I’m not going into it with ridiculously high hopes. I know The Rosie Project was so good, and the next book he released was a sequel, so I’m just going to pretend I’ve never read anything by him. Hopefully.

New On The Shelf


I got some awesome books from Indigo Teen from a Twitter giveaway – they’re all so beautiful! Thank you Indigo Teen!

Also picked up Paula Hawkins’s latest from Costco (because I’m TERRIBLE at resisting Costco books!)

What I’m Waiting For



Desi Lee knows how carburetors work. She learned CPR at the age of five. As a high school senior, she has never missed a day of school and has never had a B in her entire life. She’s for sure going to Stanford. But—she’s never had a boyfriend. In fact, she’s a disaster in romance, a clumsy, stammering humiliation-magnet whose botched attempts at flirting have become legendary with her friends.

So when the hottest human specimen to have ever lived walks into her life one day, Desi decides to tackle her flirting failures with the same zest she’s applied to everything else in her life. She finds her answer in the Korean dramas her father has been obsessively watching for years—where the hapless heroine always seems to end up in the arms of her true love by episode ten. It’s a simple formula, and Desi is a quick study.

Armed with her “K Drama Rules for True Love,” Desi goes after the moody, elusive artist Luca Drakos—and boat rescues, love triangles, and fake car crashes ensue. But when the fun and games turn to true feels, Desi finds out that real love is about way more than just drama.

May 30, 2017 | Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

I’ve been reading Jenny Han’s Lara Jean series in the past few weeks and loving it; this book looks very similar and a whole lot of fun! And I’ll admit, I’ve been super interested in watching some of these k-dramas people keep talking about. Maybe this book will finally get me watching one!

Bookish Links


What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

One thought on “This Week In Books – May 3rd – 9th, 2017

  1. I love your style, love or leave. I read like a “glooten” starved for food. I will go weeks without reading, and then I read everything in sight. I eat junk food, like donuts and popcorn for dinner sometimes, so I read junk books too. I have always had a thing with books and my appetite. I love to eat and read simultaneously. I am weird about book and always have been. I like how you follow series and authors, I do not. I am doing ebooks now. I will be following you. Read on

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

