[Book Talk] A Breath of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, #6) by Diana Gabaldon

a-breath-of-snow-and-ashesBook Details:

Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Read: January 2017

Outlander series

  1. Outlander
  2. Dragonfly in Amber
  3. Voyager
  4. Drums of Autumn
  5. The Fiery Cross (no review)
  6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes
  7. An Echo In The Bone
  8. Written In My Own Heart’s Blood

Synopsis:

Eagerly anticipated by her legions of fans, this sixth novel in Diana Gabaldon’s bestselling Outlander saga is a masterpiece of historical fiction from one of the most popular authors of our time.

Since the initial publication of Outlander fifteen years ago, Diana Gabaldon’s New York Times bestselling saga has won the hearts of readers the world over — and sold more than twelve million books. Now, A Breath of Snow and Ashes continues the extraordinary story of 18th-century Scotsman Jamie Fraser and his 20th-century wife, Claire.

The year is 1772, and on the eve of the American Revolution, the long fuse of rebellion has already been lit. Men lie dead in the streets of Boston, and in the backwoods of North Carolina, isolated cabins burn in the forest.

With chaos brewing, the governor calls upon Jamie Fraser to unite the backcountry and safeguard the colony for King and Crown. But from his wife Jamie knows that three years hence the shot heard round the world will be fired, and the result will be independence — with those loyal to the King either dead or in exile. And there is also the matter of a tiny clipping from The Wilmington Gazette, dated 1776, which reports Jamie’s death, along with his kin. For once, he hopes, his time-traveling family may be wrong about the future.

My Thoughts

I’m writing this review after finishing this book in April … after I started it in January! I had started it and was really enjoying it, then when I got 300+ pages in I put it down to read something else and just never picked it back up again! It’s not like this book wasn’t good — it was amazing! — but it seems to take me FOREVER to get through Diana Gabaldon’s books. They’re so detailed and long that it takes me at least an hour to get through 3-4% so I feel like I’m not making progress after reading it for a week.

Anyway.

This book was so good! I loved how it started with the premise about the newspaper clipping on Jamie and Claire’s death, their house burning down and them burnt to death inside. So we all know that that’s where the story will go in the end. There was so much going on and so much action and even though it was a long book (at 980 pages) and it had a lot of characters, it was just so intriguing and interesting and just when one drama would end another would begin. And don’t even get me started on the ending because it was intense!

It’s funny because even though this took me forever to read and I got to the point where I just had to force myself to finish it (thank you Tome Topple for the motivation!), once I did I wanted to immediately start the next one! I loved all of the mysteries this book brought up (and don’t keep reading if you haven’t read it!) with Brianna and Roger (will we get more of them in the next book??) and what is with Jamie’s dreams?? I loved the first epilogue and nearly cried with Roger and Brianna’s revelation … it was just so heartwarming and beautiful!

Such a great book and an amazing series!

One thought on “[Book Talk] A Breath of Snow And Ashes (Outlander, #6) by Diana Gabaldon

  1. I know what you mean, they’re such tomes! I have enjoyed all the audios though and I’ve had the last one in my Audible library for ages – 40+ hours is a little off putting 😉

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

