Rapid Fire Book Tag!

I haven’t done a book tag in so long that when I saw this one over on another blog I just had to participate!

Ebook or Physical Book?

Definitely physical books! Though I read a lot of books via ebook or audiobook, I love the feel (and I’ll admit it, the smell!) of physical books. There’s just nothing like holding a physical book in your hands!

Paperback or Hardback?

I love hardback books for my shelves and paperbacks to read. Some hardback books are just too hefty to carry around!

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

I am TERRIBLE for buying books in the store when I know darn well I can get them for a better price online. I’m trying to be more on my case to use Amazon for my book shopping to save money!

Trilogies or Series?

Oh man, this is tricky! Some books I love as a trilogy but when I fall in love with a series I want it to go on forever. But then I wonder when a series will end and whether or not I’ll remember anything by the time the next book comes out …

Heroes or Villains?

Definitely heroes!

A Book You Want Everyone To Read?

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. It’s one of my favourite books!

Recommend an Underrated Book?

Darkhouse by Karina Halle! This is the first book to her Experiment In Terror series and it is AMAZING. This is perfect if you love scary stories! Also, the Escape From Furnace series by Alexander Gordon Smith. It’s a middle grade series and so addicted and ridiculously intense!

The Last Book You Finished?

On the Fence by Kasie West … I love her writing! I’m sad I’m totally caught up on her books, though.

The Last Book You Bought

I have a bunch of books on preorder, but the last books that came to my door were Missing by Kelley Armstrong and The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

The Weirdest Thing You’ve Used As A Bookmark?

A bag of tea!

Used Books: Yes or No?

I will definitely take used if they’re in good condition. If they’re ratty, ripped, or have bent covers or broken spines, definitely not.

Top Three Favorite Genres

1. Contemporary
2. Romance
3. Fantasy

Borrow or Buy?

Both! I borrow from the library, usually ebooks but sometimes physical copies, and I buy books from authors I love or books that I know I’m going to love. Or sometimes just books that will look so pretty on my shelf!

Characters or Plot?

Characters. If I don’t feel like I can connect with anyone in a book on some level, I’m usually not going to like it. And someone has to have some redeeming or likeable qualities!

Long or Short Books?

Both … lol. But I like to alternate. Sometimes I can’t read so many long books in a row, I need to throw in some short books, too.

Long or Short Chapters?

Short chapters. I can’t put a book down until I’ve finished a chapter so abnormally long chapters throw me off!

Name The First Three Books You Think Of?

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
Naive. Super by Erlend Loe
Along For the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Books That Make You Laugh Or Cry?

I remember when I read Damn You Autocorrect and I could barely drink water while reading, it was so hilarious! And when I think of books I’ve cried reading, Morgan Matson’s Open Road Summer definitely comes to mind.

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Definitely fictional worlds! My real world with two kids is so chaotic sometimes that I love to escape to a fantasy world!

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

Yes! Close to half of the books I’ve read this year have been audiobooks! Again, with two kids, it’s hard to find reading time, so when we drive or if I’m doing housework, I’ll throw on an audiobook and it feels like I get some more time to myself.

Do You Judge Books By Their Covers?

Yup. If a book has a terrible cover I have a hard time thinking it will be good. Part of me thinks that books shouldn’t have any covers so we don’t judge them, but I love beautiful book covers too much to let them go!

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

Definitely book to TV … I feel like with TV adaptations you get so much more. With shows like Outlander, Game of Thrones, and 13 Reasons Why you get more than you would in a 90-minute movie.

A Movie or TV Show You Preferred To Its Book?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I read the book just because I got tickets to the movie premiere and read the book before seeing it and thought it was awful and boring. The movie was so much better!

Series or Stand Alones?

Stand alone! I always prefer a solo book to a series. UNLESS the whole series is out and it’s short. Then if I love the first book I want the series.


And that’s it! That was fun to answer!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

