This Week In Books – May 10th – 16th, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found, that lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.

 
 

What I Read:

Is it weird to say my reading slowed down this week when I’ve only read 4 books? I feel like when I say “only” four books it’s more than other people read, but the number seems small to me!

A Million Little Things (Mischief Bay, #3) by Susan Mallery – This one was okay, but not my favourite. One of the main characters is going crazy about her 18-month-old not talking and yet here I am with a nearly 22-month-old who doesn’t talk and a 3.5 year old in speech therapy. I constantly thought that 18 months old is just too darn young to start worrying and I couldn’t get over it! I also hated the mom in this book.

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #3) by Sarah J. Maas – Finally! The conclusion to this amazing series! I really enjoyed reading this book, but it wasn’t quite the epic-ness I was expecting. There were a few things that really irked me while I read this and it just didn’t grab me as much as the second book did.

Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen – I won this book from Indigo and got it last week and decided to listen to the audiobook since my library had it. It was okay … I thought that it wasn’t a great representation of mental illness, especially since it seems to sound like if you find love, you’ll be okay.

A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout – I’ve had this book on my shelf forever it seems and finally got the audiobook from the library to listen to. It was really good! It’s hard to rate a non-fiction, first hand encounter book, but I thought that Amanda’s story was moving, though kind of lacking in emotion. I’m glad I finally got to it!

What I’m Currently Reading:

What? I’m only reading one book? It feels so weird!

Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, #3) by Jenny Han – I’m really not too far into this at all to comment on it, but so far I’m enjoying it! I read somewhere that this was originally a two book series, so I’m really interested to see how this one turns out.

What I Plan To Read Next: 

I’ve been reading lots of serious books or long books and I just want to read some fun books now for a little bit!

Geekerella by Ashley Poston – I think this one just looks adorable. It’s a Cinderella retelling and even though I’m not the biggest fan of retellings, this one looks great. And I’ve heard really good things about it!

The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1) by Rick Riordan – I’ve been seeing this book EVERYWHERE and just keep hearing how hilarious and awesome it is. I love the idea of the big and mighty god, Apollo, having to endure life as a 16 year old boy! Seriously can’t wait to get to this one!

New On The Shelf


 

I’ve mentioned this before, but I am crazy for Costco when it comes to books! I read the first two in the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before series in the past month and saw the WHOLE series in hardcover at Costco the other day! I was just going to get the third book since it’s the only one I need to read, but then I figured it would be lonely on my shelf without the rest of the books so I got them, too. When reorganizing my shelves I realized I still own the ARC of the first book, too!

Last Wednesday, I got my copy of A Court of Wings and Ruin, the last book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy. And I’ve already finished it!

I went on a bit of a Mother’s Day shopping spree, since I had a few gift cards to use. My mom thought it was funny that I came to the bookstore with a list, but I’m glad I went prepared! I could’ve gotten so many more books but already by owned TBR is getting out of control again, so time to try and NOT buy more. That’s a laugh, right?

What I’m Waiting For


From the author of The Half Life of Molly Pierce and The Lost & Found comes a magical new YA novel about 24 dares, 3 weeks, and taking a leap into the unknown.

Lottie Reeves has always struggled with anxiety, and when her beloved Aunt Helen dies, Lottie begins to fear that her own unexpected death might be waiting around every corner.

Aunt Helen wasn’t a typical aunt. She was the author of the best–selling Alvin Hatter series, about siblings who discover the elixir of immortality. Her writing inspired a generation of readers.

In her will, she leaves one last writing project—just for Lottie. It’s a series of letters, each containing mysterious instructions designed to push Lottie out of her comfort zone. Soon, Lottie’s trying some writing of her own, leaping off cliffs, and even falling for a boy she’s only just met. Then the letters reveal an extraordinary secret about the inspiration for the Alvin Hatter series. Lottie finds herself faced with an impossible choice, one that will force her to confront her greatest fear once and for all.

This gorgeous novel is perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, with the scavenger hunt feel of Thirteen Little Blue Envelopes, and a dash of magic that evokes Tuck Everlasting.

June 6, 2017 | HarperCollins Children’s Books

This book sounds so cute! I’m one of those people who has a really hard time getting outside of their comfort zone so I think this will be a great book to read. And it sounds perfect for summer!

What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

