[Book Talk] The Upside of Unrequited

Book Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Library
Read: April 2017

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

My Thoughts

Alright, before I start this review, I just have to comment on some of the reviews I had read about this book, saying that Molly shouldn’t find her happiness in a boy and she should find her self-confidence elsewhere, BUT it says right there in the synopsis what the book is about. To just shout out the predictability of YA novels, was it really going to end with Molly and Reid NOT getting together?

First off, I loved this book. I could connect with Molly so well because I was her growing up. I had those friends who were gorgeous and could get a boyfriend just like that. I felt so lonely and always wondered why no one would ask me out. What was wrong with me? So I knew what Molly was going through. It’s tough being 17 and seeing all your friends getting boyfriends and girlfriends – and, in Molly’s case, seeing her moms get married. I mean, it’s a lot to take in!

Second, there’s so much diversity in this book, which was wonderful. Not once did I feel like Becky Albertalli was just checking items off a list of what race to include or whether this character should be a lesbian or bisexual. It all just flowed so nice and everything felt right. It wasn’t one of those happy happy books where everyone gets along, though. Molly’s grandma is rude towards Molly’s weight, and Molly’s aunt hasn’t talked to her mom for a long time, most likely due to her relationship status.

There’s so much going on in Molly’s life that I can totally see why she’d look for some happiness – even if it was with a boy. It’s not like she doesn’t know who she is. She loves to create things and is using her talents to do the decorations for her moms’ upcoming wedding. She gets a job and gets to use her skills there. She’s had so many crushes but not one boyfriend and when she meets Reid, something happens and sparks fly — but after so much unrequited love, will something happen?

I loved Reid. I loved that he was a bit of a nerd and he was funny and just got Molly. I liked that he wasn’t just the handsome jock but someone who Molly could actually connect with and have fun with. I liked Cassie and her relationship with Molly. Yeah, this book deals with Molly and her looking for love, but it also deals with two sisters and what happens when they do reach that age where they start to have boyfriends and girlfriends. Once sacred relationships are tested and they somehow have to find a way back to each other.

This was such a great story to read and I loved how much I connected with it and am really looking forward to Becky Albertalli’s next book. She has such an engaging way of writing that pulls a reader in! Plus, this book was a super fast read, which was nice. It’s the perfect summer read, or the perfect book to unwind with at the end of a long day.

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews!

How Useful It Is
Lost In A Story
Going Through Books

3 thoughts on “[Book Talk] The Upside of Unrequited

  1. Love your review! I like how you relate to Molly. I did the same thing as I read the book haha.. I also wonder if the author has a diversity checklist! This book is so diverse though so I can’t help but wondering.. 🙂 I really like Reid too. I’m glad Molly met a good guy instead of a Jock. Thanks for the link to my review. Great idea! 🙂

  2. YES YES YES YES YES YES!! I LOVED this book so much too. I completely identified with Molly too. I finally got my first boyfriend at 24. Most of my friends were already married and some already had kids. The diversity, the comedy, the tender moments, the self-love, the family relationships. This book was everything I want in a book. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

