My Top Contemporary Picks for Summer! #SummerReading

I don’t know about you guys, but when the winter snow FINALLY disappears (which seems to take forever here where I am) and the flowers start to come out, I have a desire to read books in the sunshine. I know some people would prefer to do active things like swim, or hike, or go biking, and while being active is great, I just prefer to sit in the sunshine with a good book! And maybe a beer. And some watermelon. But don’t get the watermelon on the book!

I love reading contemporary books in the summertime, from books about family or travel or summer books that take place in sunny places on a lake or the ocean. I’m north of the mountains in the middle of Canada, so no ocean for me over here. Plus, I am at home with two littles 3 and under, so not a lot of travel, either! So I travel through my books.

So, here are my top contemporary picks for summer reading! I hope you find one that you’ll add to your own summer TBR.

    

If Only You Knew by Kristan Higgins

Kristin Higgins writes such great stories and not only was this one so good, it was crazy addicting! It literally kept me up reading all night long because I just couldn’t get enough. I find her books are a good mix of light and fun stories, with very relatable characters and storylines.

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) by Stephanie Perkins

This is one of those books I’ve read over and over again and it just never gets old! I never tire of the beautiful Paris setting, the romance, the school setting. This was my first Stephanie Perkins book and it made me fall in love! And who wouldn’t want to visit Paris in the gorgeous summer sunshine?

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1) by Jojo Moyes

Speaking of addicting stories, this is one of my all-time favourites! I laughed, I cried, and I fell in love. Jojo Moyes writes such compelling stories that put readers through a full range of emotions and this is one of her best.

By Your Side by Kasie West

Kasie West is one of my favourite, favourite authors. No matter what she releases, I will read it and most likely I’ll love it! Her stories are cute, romantic, and quick to read. And this one takes place in a library, so what’s not to love? Isn’t it every bookworms dream to fall in love in a library?

Breathe, Annie, Breathe (Hundred Oaks) by Miranda Kenneally

Remember how I said I’d prefer to sit in the sun and read a book, rather than do physical exercise in the summer? Well, if anyone is going to convince me to get up and do something active, it will be Miranda Kenneally. Her whole Hundred Oaks series is great, but this one is a favourite of mine. When I read it for the first time, I just had to run – perhaps I should put it on my own TBR again to inspire some running again!

    

Lighthouse Bay by Kimberley Freeman

Alright, this one is both a contemporary AND a historical, but it’s so so good! I love stories that weave both genres together seamlessly, especially ones like this one that take place on the ocean in a lighthouse. I will always love lighthouse books! Kimberley Freeman is such a good writer, too – she knows how to suck you in right from the first pages!

The Waiting Sky by Lara Zielen

With summer weather comes summer storms and this book packs a punch with its tornado-chasing characters. Twister is one of my favourite movies and this brings stories like that to the page. It was exciting and intense, not just with the storm chasing, but with some family drama and a little romance thrown in.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

I love Morgan Matson’s books and this will always remain my favourite. The emotions are high in this story and even though it takes place in a beautiful setting in the summertime, it was incredibly sad! That being said, if you don’t mind having some tissues on hand, this is a beautiful book that’s perfect for summer!

My Not-So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella 

I just read this one this year and loved it so much – which is what I say about pretty much every Sophie Kinsella book. I think any of her books are perfect for the summer but I really loved this story. Katie’s trips to her father’s farm just made me long for summer days and cool breezes on a hot day. Plus the story has a great message. You’ll love it!

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

This was one of the first new adult books I had read (well, one of the first books marketed as new adult) and it was such a great book. It was one of those hyped up reads that I didn’t think could be as good as people said, but from the first few pages I was hooked and I just loved the story. Since then I’ve been keeping my eye out for anything new from Katja Millay because she’s such a great writer!

What are your summer contemporary book recommendations? 

5 thoughts on “My Top Contemporary Picks for Summer! #SummerReading

  1. Great picks!! I have read 3 books from your list: My (not so) Perfect Life, Anna and the French Kiss and By Your Side and really enjoyed them! I would recommend It’s Not Like It’s a Secret, Simon vs Homo Sapiens Agenda, Aristotle and Dante Discovered the Secrets of the Universe, The Art of Feeling (but it won’t published until August), and more! just have to dig in my memory haha..

    • I’ve heard really good things about It’s Not Like It’s a Secret! And I’ll have to add The Art of Feeling to my wishlist. I also really loved Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens agenda. I’m currently reading One Paris Summer and it makes me think of Anna & The French Kiss so much. I just love books set in Paris!

      • I haven’t heard of that title.. I will look into it 🙂 I like books set in places I haven’t been to.. which is many haha..

  2. The change of weather always gives me the urge to reread Harry Potter, because I read the entire series every summer growing up. And there’s nothing quite like reading at the beach, or in the park when beaches are hard to come by!

    • Beaches are definitely hard to come by here. lol. And I would love to read outside, but the mosquitoes are horrendous! Harry Potter makes me think of summer, too, but only the books. When I think of the movies, I think of winter. lol

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

