This Week In Books – May 17th – 23rd, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found, that lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.


What I Read:

Again, it was a quiet week of reading for me. I savoured all the books I read and got into a serious Canadian author binge with my reading! I’ve bought so many books by non-Canadian authors this year, but expect tons of Canada by next week!

The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1) by Rick Riordan – This book was so much fun! I’m so glad I bought it. Apollo was such a hilarious character to have a POV from and I’m glad I read the physical book rather than listen to the audio for this one. Rick Riordan is such a fun writer that I didn’t want this book to end. Looking forward to the next book!

40 Things I Want to Tell You by Alice Kuipers – This one might not have been a favourite, but I really enjoyed Alice Kuipers writing style and really look forward to reading more from her. This is another one of those young adult books that deal with serious issues and, honestly, the whole book was a bit of a surprise for me.

Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1) by K. A. Tucker – I bought this book SO long ago and finally read it this year and wondered why it took me so long to read it! This was a fabulous and addicting New Adult book and I honestly can’t wait to read more of Kathleen’s books – and more from this series!

99: Stories of the Game by Wayne Gretzky – When I was growing up, Wayne Gretzky was a household name! I’m not a fan of hockey and would much rather read than watch the game, but I really enjoyed this book. It was written for everyone, not just people who love hockey, and I could definitely see myself reading this again! Only complaint is that Wayne didn’t narrate it himself.

What I’m Currently Reading:

All The Rage by Courtney Summers – I’ve had this book on my shelf for a few years now and I’m happy to finally be reading it! I didn’t realize it was so serious and full of drama, but I’m really enjoying Courtney’s writing. I’ve only read one other book by her and I’m glad I have another one on my shelf.

Where Sea Meets Sky (Where Sea Meets Sky, #1) by Karina Halle – I wasn’t sure about reading another Karina Halle book since I love her Experiment in Terror series so much and haven’t really connected with some of her other work, but I’m really enjoying this one so far. I love that the characters aren’t like some of her other characters, AND it’s about travel! I’m not that far in but already I want to travel to New Zealand.

  

What I Plan To Read Next: 

I’ve been working on a MONTH OF CANADA on the blog for July so all of my latest book picks have been Canadian authors! The above is what I’m hoping to get to but I’ve definitely been following my mood with my Canadian picks lately.

New On The Shelf


I think every week I talk about buying books at Costco … and this week is the same as every other week. Oops! However, the cover of Andrew Pyper’s book just pulled me in and since I had read the first book in Rick Riordan’s new series this past week, I just couldn’t leave without buying the next book in the series!

Thank you to Hachette Book Group Canada for a review copy of The Summer Visitors by Fiona O’Brien … this book looks like the perfect summer read!

I just couldn’t resist the latest from Karina Halle – a joint effort by her and her husband, Scott Mackenzie. Since I’m in such a Canadian reading mood, I just had to buy this one! It looks super cute and I love any book with music in it.

What I’m Waiting For


After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust into the limelight: She’s gone viral.

Her show is a modern adaptation of Anna Karenina—written by Tash’s literary love Count Lev Nikolayevich “Leo” Tolstoy. Tash is a fan of the forty thousand new subscribers, their gushing tweets, and flashy Tumblr GIFs. Not so much the pressure to deliver the best web series ever.

And when Unhappy Families is nominated for a Golden Tuba award, Tash’s cyber-flirtation with Thom Causer, a fellow award nominee, suddenly has the potential to become something IRL—if she can figure out how to tell said crush that she’s romantic asexual.

Tash wants to enjoy her newfound fame, but will she lose her friends in her rise to the top? What would Tolstoy do?

June 6, 2017 | Simon & Schuster

This book looks so ridiculously cute! I’ve recently grown to love BookTube and tune in multiple times a week to watch my favourite vloggers, so this book is definitely coming at a good time. I love that Tash is also asexual, something you don’t see a lot of in books, AND I love that it’s about her love of Tolstoy! I can’t wait to read it!

What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

2 thoughts on “This Week In Books – May 17th – 23rd, 2017

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

