This Week In Books – May 24th – 30th, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found, that lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.

 

What I Read:

Not a bad reading week for me! ALL Canadian reads, which I love. 🙂

All The Rage by Courtney Summers – I’ve had this book for quite some time and I’m happy I finally got to it. It’s always a bit jarring to read a Courtney Summers book since she writes in such a gritty way, but in the end I really enjoyed this one.

Undone by Katey Wolfe – This is the pseudonym of Kelley Armstrong and I loved it so much! It has Kelley’s signature voice, even if it’s more of a New Adult book with more than the fade to black romance you’d see in her other books. Still, this one was really, really good.

The Art of Getting Stared At by Laura Langston – I’ve had this book for three years and just realized it was Canadian! It was so interesting to read and reminded me of Lisa Genova. Such a great book!

Where Sea Meets Sky (Where Sea Meets Sky, #1) by Karina Halle – I hadn’t read any of Karina’s books in so long that I’m so happy I took this one out from the library. It was such a good read and I loved that it took place over in New Zealand.

Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings (Real Mermaids, #1) by Helene Boudreau – I don’t know why I didn’t borrow this one sooner from the library since it’s been on my wishlist shelf for so long. This audiobook was SO good! It was hilarious and heartwarming and mysterious … so, so good. I can’t wait to continue with this series!

What I’m Currently Reading:

Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman – I won this book through a Twitter giveaway from Indigo Chapters and saw my library just got the audiobook. I love the cover of this book and the muted grays and blacks paired with orange is just so pretty, and this book is really, really good. I’m enjoying listening to the audiobook so much!

Any Other Girl by Rebecca Phillips – Rebecca’s publicist had posted about her upcoming book on Twitter and I was so happy to see that she was a Canadian! I just bought this last week and it’s really good. It definitely makes me want to have a summer home!

Tides of Honour by Genevieve Graham – I don’t know why I haven’t read a Genevieve Graham book sooner, she’s such a good writer! I’m loving this historical fiction so much and already I can’t wait to read more from her. And I love how Canadian this book is, too, taking place in Nova Scotia.

 

What I Plan To Read Next: 

I’m still working on my Month of Canada and even though I have plenty planned for the month, I can’t stop reading Canadian books! I plan on reading a few more, then taking a break for some books for Audiobook Month, and I have a review book to read, too!

New On The Shelf


    

Like I said, I discovered Rebecca through a tweet from her agent on Twitter and immediately had to read something of hers! I found this one on Amazon, bought it, and dove in right away! I also found Genevieve Graham’s books in a few places and am so excited to have them on my shelf – they’re both Canadian historicals and the covers are gorgeous! The Finishing School is also Canadian and is a mystery that takes place at a boarding school. And I just found Somewhere In France today after just realizing Jennifer Robson was Canadian. As you can see, I’m definitely on a Canadian kick!

 

What I’m Waiting For


Gina Royal is the definition of average—a shy Midwestern housewife with a happy marriage and two adorable children. But when a car accident reveals her husband’s secret life as a serial killer, she must remake herself as Gwen Proctor—the ultimate warrior mom.

With her ex now in prison, Gwen has finally found refuge in a new home on remote Stillhouse Lake. Though still the target of stalkers and Internet trolls who think she had something to do with her husband’s crimes, Gwen dares to think her kids can finally grow up in peace.

But just when she’s starting to feel at ease in her new identity, a body turns up in the lake—and threatening letters start arriving from an all-too-familiar address. Gwen Proctor must keep friends close and enemies at bay to avoid being exposed—or watch her kids fall victim to a killer who takes pleasure in tormenting her. One thing is certain: she’s learned how to fight evil. And she’ll never stop.

July 1, 2017 | Thomas & Mercer

This sounds so good! I love stories that are about those hidden pasts, like The Husband’s Secret. Even if you think you trust your spouse, do you ever think there could be some mysterious past they’re hiding? Okay, maybe not, but at least we have exciting novels that make us think it could happen!

What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

2 thoughts on “This Week In Books – May 24th – 30th, 2017

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

