[Audiobook Talk] On The Fence by Kasie West #LoveAudiobooks

Audiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Narrated by: Shannon McManus
Length: 6 hours 3 minutes
Read: April 2017

Synopsis:

For sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she’s spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.

To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can’t solve Charlie’s biggest problem: she’s falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

My Thoughts

I love Kasie West’s books! Now that I’ve completed all of her titles (happy to be caught up, sad there are no more!) she is on my auto-buy list. Her books are full of so much heart, relatable characters, sweet romance, and so much more.

I couldn’t totally relate to Charlie in this book since she’s a bit of a tomboy and she lost her mom when she was 6 and didn’t have that female influence, but I loved her character. I loved that she was 16 years old and not sure who she was supposed to be – especially since she got a lot of male influence at home and didn’t know how to “girl” or if she even should. I like that the story didn’t revolve around her just being happy when she found a man, but trying to find that balance between the new things she’s starting to love and her lifelong passions – as well as trying to figure out how to share her new loves with her very testosterone family.

I loved Braden and his relationship with Charlie and her brothers. This is the perfect boy next door is friends with girl next door and then they fall in love story — and my favourite kind of story! Kind of reminiscent of something by Miranda Kenneally and Lola and the Boy Next Door, maybe with a bit of My Life Next Door, too. Seriously, this is just so sweet and fun!

Audiobook Notes: 

Shannon McManus is such a fun narrator and I love how she brings the characters to life. This story was so much fun to listen to on audio and I will definitely be scouting out more of her titles.

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

For The Love Of Words
Star-Crossed Book Blog
Le Book Chronicles

One thought on “[Audiobook Talk] On The Fence by Kasie West #LoveAudiobooks

  1. Thank you so much for linking to my review! And I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed this book too, it was so cute! Ohh wow, you’re way ahead of me – I still need to catch up on Kasie West books! I’m hoping to read PS I Like You this month. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

