This Week In Books – May 31st to June 6th, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found, that lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.


 

What I Read:

This was an amazing reading week! 3/6 of these were Canadian reads, too.

The Summer Visitors by Fiona O’Brien – I received this one from Hachette Book Group Canada for review and it was okay, but I felt like it was marketed as more of a fiction/romance, but it was sooo much different from that. There were a lot of characters and definitely some things that happened that I was not expecting. Not my favourite, but I gave it 3/5.

Any Other Girl by Rebecca Phillips – This is from Canadian author Rebecca Phillips – I had bought this book since I was interviewing Rebecca for the blog and I totally fell in love with her writing. She’s kind of like a Canadian Morgan Matson or Sarah Dessen. Can’t wait to read more from her!

Tides of Honour by Genevieve Graham – This is my first Genevieve Graham book and I loved it so much! I loved that this was a Canadian historical and it made me fall in love with eastern Canada (well, more than I love it already) and I really can’t wait to read everything else Genevieve has written.

One Paris Summer by Denise Grover Swank – I borrowed this one from the library because it was about Paris and it looked super cute and I’m so glad that it was! I loved being in Paris and I was so excited to see that Denise has SO many other books, even some adult books. This one was so much fun to listen to!

A Million Junes by Emily Henry – I’m not sure what I expected with this, but it was marketed (as I saw later) as Romeo & Juliet meets One Hundred Years of Solitude. Since I really hated One Hundred Years of Solitude, I’m glad to say this book was 100% better. I really had to suspend belief when I read this story, but I did really like it by the end.

Everything Beautiful Is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman – This is another one by a new-to-me Canadian author and I was so impressed! I won this book from Indigo Chapters and thought it was just so beautiful and sad and heartwarming. Definitely a favourite of the year.

What I’m Currently Reading:

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy – I probably should be reading this book faster than I am, but I put it down to get a review book read and now I’m hooked on my other current read, BUT I’m really enjoying this one so far! I’m only about 100 pages in, but it’s a good story so far.

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1) by Victoria Schwab – So this is a book that I had originally listened to on audiobook just earlier this year and I thought it was okay, but I think it was one of those instances where the audiobook just didn’t work for me. After reading this, I read more of Victoria’s work and LOVED it so I felt like I missed something while listening to this. I’m about 150 pages or so into it and it’s really, really good and I’m glad I gave it another chance. I can’t wait to read the next book!

What I Plan To Read Next: 

I’m definitely going by mood when it comes to reading, but I want to fit in a few more Canadian reads over the week – I think my goal is to read at LEAST one Canadian book a week. And we have our Mystery Book Club coming up next week, so I’ll have to read the book! They picked a cozy mystery and it looks super cute!

New On The Shelf


Every week I tell myself that I’m not going to buy too many books, and then I buy too many books! I was so excited to see two new Canadian releases while out shopping this week – I’m so excited to read Karma Brown’s and Kate Hilton’s books! And I got my preorder of Lord of Shadows in the mail, which means I really need to read Lady Midnight, like yesterday. I’ve heard so many good things about that series and whenever I think I’m over shadowhunters, I realize I’m not! And my library picked their next book club book … it’ll be a Mystery Book Club and they picked a cozy mystery about ghosts and books. It looks super cute!

What I’m Waiting For


An unforgettable tale of two friends on their Grand Tour of 18th-century Europe who stumble upon a magical artifact that leads them from Paris to Venice in a dangerous manhunt, fighting pirates, highwaymen, and their feelings for each other along the way.

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.

But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Witty, romantic, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a sumptuous romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

June 27, 2017 | Katherine Tegan Books

Oh man, this is one of those crazy hyped up books this year but I have to go with the hype because this looks so good! I just love the cover, what it’s about, and it sounds funny and romantic, and I love that it’s historical. I can’t wait to read this one!

What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

