[Audiobook Talk] Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch #LoveAudiobooks

Audiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Narrated by: Rebekka Ross
Length: 8 hours 17 minutes
Read: April 2017

Synopsis:

A summer in Italy turns into a road trip across Tuscany in this sweeping debut novel filled with romance, mystery, and adventure.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for 16 years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then Lina is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept from Lina for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father – and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this one! I had seen the cover on a lot of blogs and, to be honest, it was the gelato that made me want to read this book! Plus I love a good travel book since I’m a bit of a homebody and love to live vicariously through people traveling in books.

This story was a lot different than I thought it would be. I kind of thought it was just going to be your typical story about a girl traveling to Italy and falling in love, but it had so much more depth, with Lina’s mother dying and Lina trying to figure out the truth of who her father is. She meets quite a cast of characters, some of them being your typical YA tropes, but the journey through Italy is so much fun that I was completely swept up in the story.

There is romance and it was just okay. There’s a bit of a love triangle and I didn’t like how it was done at all. I think this was one of those books where if people just talked to one another, the romance would’ve been sorted out. And what’s with all these teenage boys looking like gods?

Anyway, this was a fun read for the upcoming summer and made me long for foreign landscapes, gelato, and a bit of summer romance.

Audiobook Notes: 

I definitely loved Rebekka Ross’s narration. She had such a great voice and I loved listening to her. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the over the top Italian voices – I kind of felt like they sounded way older than they should have – but other than that, this was a wonderful story to listen to.

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

The Bent Bookworm
No BS Book Reviews
Bored To Death Book Club

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

