This Week In Books – June 14th to 20th, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found, that lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.

 

What I Read:

Wow – talk about a small reading week! I was having a bit of an off week and just couldn’t get into anything and started listening to more music, so I didn’t listen to any audiobooks. And I just couldn’t find an audiobook that grabbed me, so I just took my time with some physical books.

Once And For All by Sarah Dessen – I was so excited for this one that I had to dig into it right when I got it. It was definitely really good and I loved the wedding planning part of it. It was very much a Sarah Dessen book, but something didn’t grab me as much as her other books and I had to suspend belief with the plot a bit. Not my favourite, but it was still good!

Ember Island by Kimberley Freeman – It had been forever since I read Kimberley Freeman’s last book and as I started reading this one I remembered how much I love her writing. This book was so good!! It seriously kept me up at night reading because I just had to see what was going on. I already have one of her older books on my books to buy list.

What I’m Currently Reading:

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari – Last week I finally caught up with Aziz’s show Master of None, so when I saw this book at my library, I decided to give it a go. It’s so good! Right off the bat, I knew I had to slow down the speed (I’m a notorious 2x the speed listener) and just take in the book. I was laughing like crazy right away. It’s such an interesting book, a great blend of non-fiction and spit out your coffee humour.

 

What I Plan To Read Next: 

Oh hey, weren’t these on my list LAST week? Yup. But I’m TOTALLY going to read these this week! I was having a bit of an off week last week, so I need to catch up! I also just got the audiobook for It’s Not Like It’s A Secret and plan to listen to it next.

New On The Shelf


Nothing! It was such an off week for me that I didn’t buy one book. Definitely feels weird.

What I’m Waiting For


The powerful new novel from Kimberley Freeman.

A rich and satisfying story of two women with indomitable spirits and the high costs they have to pay for being strong-minded, from the author of the bestselling Lighthouse Bay and Ember Island.

A story about love, motherhood, and learning whom you belong to in the world.

In 1874, wild and willful Agnes Resolute finally leaves the foundling home where she grew up on the bleak moors of northern England. On her departure, she discovers that she was abandoned with a small token of her mother: a unicorn button. Agnes had always believed her mother to be too poor to keep her, but Agnes has been working as a laundress at the foundling home and recognises the button as belonging to the imperious and beautiful Genevieve Breakby, daughter of a local noble family. Agnes had only seen her once, but has never forgotten her. She investigates and discovers Genevieve is now in London. Agnes follows, living hard in the poor end of London until she finds out Genevieve has moved to France.

This sets Agnes off on her own adventure: to Paris, Agnes follows her mother’s trail, and starts to see it is also a trail of destruction. Finally, in Sydney she tracks Genevieve down. But is Genevieve capable of being the mother Agnes hopes she will be?

A powerful story about women with indomitable spirits, about love and motherhood, and about learning whom you belong to in the world.

TBA | Simon & Schuster Canada

Like I said, I love Kimberley Freeman’s books and when I started reading the book I just finished, Ember Island, I had to look her up and see if she had anything new coming out and this one was just released in Australia! I have no idea when it comes out in Canada but now after my second book by Kimberley, she is on my auto-buy list. Her books are just so good!

What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

