[Audiobook Talk] Nimona by Noelle Stevenson #LoveAudiobooks

Audiobook Details:

Format: Audiobook
Source: Library
Narrator: Rebecca Soler, Jonathan Davis, Marc Thompson
Length: 2 hours 16 minutes
Read: June 2017

Synopsis:

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the New York Times best-selling graphic novel sensation from Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic.

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Adapted for audio, this brilliant production is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and graphic novel and is sure to win Noelle many new ones. This full-cast audio edition is performed by Rebecca Soler, Jonathan Davis, Marc Thompson, January LaVoy, Natalie Gold, Peter Bradbury, and David Pittu and features original music by Loren Toolajian, with sound effects throughout.

Nimona is an impulsive young shape-shifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are. But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

My Thoughts

Since I had already read Nimona last year, I hadn’t intended to pick it up again. It’s probably one of my favourite graphic novels of all time, Nimona being such a hilarious and fun character and her relationship with Lord Blackheart is just so, so funny and memorable. I was looking for an audiobook to listen to and just couldn’t make up my mind so I thought I’d go with a reread of this one – I’ve always seen graphic novels as audiobooks on the library’s website but I’ve never listened to one, so since this one was just over 2 hours long I thought I’d give it a go.

This was so much fun! Rebecca Soler (who narrates the audiobooks for Marissa Meyers’s Lunar Chronicles series) does an AMAZING job as our lead character, Nimona, and her snarkiness and crazy enthusiasm for all things villainy is just SO over the top and hilarious and her paired with the voice of Lord Blackheart was just too awesome to listen to. However, while I loved the narration, the sound effects, the music, just everything about listening to this, I think something would’ve been lost had I not already read the graphic novel. I could easily picture the diagrams in my head and I thought it might have been even more fun to listen to this while following in the book, but had I not read the book already, I’m not sure it would’ve been that good.

Anyway, this was so much fun to listen to and it made me interested to listen to more stories as full-cast narrations. I love the idea of sound effects and music – it’s almost like watching a movie, but not watching. The narration does help a bit to describe what’s going on, but like I said, it’s probably even better if you read the book along with listening — it would definitely add something to the enjoyment of the story.

Audiobook Notes: 

Like I said, the narration of this was awesome. Rebecca Soler did a FANTASTIC job as Nimona and was just over the top hilarious and exactly what I wanted her to sound like. This really made her become one of my favourite narrators, just seeing another side of what she can do. I also loved all the other voices and the sound effects and music really added another dimension to the book, making it so enjoyable to listen to.

But don’t take my word for it — read some other reviews: 

Reviews And Read-A-Thons
Foxclouds
School Library Journal

2 thoughts on “[Audiobook Talk] Nimona by Noelle Stevenson #LoveAudiobooks

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

