This Week In Books – June 21st to 27th, 2017

This Week In Books


“This Week In Books” is a weekly event, hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found, that lets readers share what they read, what they’re reading, and what they’re planning to read next. I thought it would be a nice way to recap my reading week and share a few thoughts on what I’ve been reading.

  
 

What I Read:

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – From the first few pages, I knew I would love this book, and I totally did! I can see why there’s so much hype around this because it’s super cute and Dimple and Rishi is that kind of couple you ship, even if you think saying you ship something is weird. Definitely recommended!

Saints and Misfits by S. K. Ali – I had this one on my radar after my search for some 2017 Canadian releases and thought it was really good! I loved the writing style and the story, while it didn’t have quite the resolution I was looking for, was intriguing and fun. And I definitely learned a lot about the Muslim culture reading this one, which was nice!

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari – Loved this one so much. I especially love the audiobook since it’s read by Aziz and he’s just so funny and tells a great story. Even though I’m a married lady, I still loved this story about the hardships of dating in the digital world. It was thoughtful, fascinating, and I now feel so much more thankful for not having to go through this when I dated!

And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz – I really enjoyed this tale of mother-daughter bonding abroad. Had I not seen it while browsing my library’s Overdrive catalogue, I might not have picked it up, so I’m glad that I saw it. Made me want to travel!

London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn Middleton – I was gifted this book by the author and it’s such a fun read! I love all things London and this book just makes me want to go there!

 

What I’m Currently Reading:

Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity, #2) by Victoria Schwab – I’m on a mission to read the piles of new books I have on our main floor – before anything can go on the bookcases, it has to be read! – and so I just had to dive into this one. I think it’s official – I love Victoria Schwab and just need to buy her back catalogue I don’t own and read everything. She’s awesome. I’m not too far into this one – maybe 75 pages – but it’s good so far.

Meant To Be by Lauren Morrill – I’ve had this one on my radar for SUCH a long time that I finally decided to listen to the audiobook. The fact that Shannon McManus narrates it was a selling point for me, since I love her narrations of Kasie West books. However, I’m equally loving and hating this book … it’s fun and light but man are the characters annoying!

What I Plan To Read Next: 

Since Canada’s 150th is just around the corner, I’m hoping to get some Canadian reading in! I just don’t know what yet. I’m just kind of winging it with my reading lately!

New On The Shelf


 
Got my preorder of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue in the mail this week and it’s just so pretty to look at! And, as you’ll see below, I just had to buy a copy of K. A. Tucker’s newest book because all I’m seeing are raving reviews and I need to read it ASAP!

What I’m Waiting For


Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania: population two thousand outside of tourist season.

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed attempt at a relationship, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has saved: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works.

For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. What begins as an immediate friendship quickly turns into something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something that Catherine is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades?

June 27, 2017 | Atria Books

I’m cheating a bit with this one because it just came out yesterday, but this one looks so good! I actually went to buy this the other day on my kindle because I had no idea what to read next and I already know I’ll love it, even though I’ve only read one K. A. Tucker book, but it hadn’t been released yet! I’ve seen that it’s like a modern day Cinderella story, and honestly, I can’t wait to gobble it up!

What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations? What books are you waiting for to be published?

2 thoughts on “This Week In Books – June 21st to 27th, 2017

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

