[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] Until It Fades by K. A. Tucker

Book Details:

Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Read: July 2017

Synopsis:

Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania: population two thousand outside of tourist season.

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed attempt at a relationship, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has saved: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works.

For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. What begins as an immediate friendship quickly turns into something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something that Catherine is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades?

My Thoughts

K. A. Tucker is definitely making her way to the top of my favourite author list! As I finished this book, I saw that this book was a lot different from her others, but I loved it all the same. This was the perfect fairytale book and I couldn’t get enough!

It started out like a lot of new adult books, with the main character going through some rough times in her teens that lead to her having to grow up a lot, which then led to her not really getting to have a lot of excitement in her life. I loved Cath (never Cathy) and the life that she built for herself, despite the things she had gone through. She was such a strong person, raising her daughter, and goshdarnit, she deserved some happiness!

I really haven’t read a lot of sports romances, and I’m not really a hockey fan in real life, but man did I love that this book’s romantic lead was a hockey player! I loved the hockey talk and it felt very Canadian to me (even if the team wasn’t Canadian – heck, the book doesn’t even take place in Canada!). I think I could relate to Cath since she wasn’t a hockey fan either, which was nice. The romance in this book might’ve been super predictable, but it was so nice to read. I loved the romance and it seriously kept me up at night!

This book was so much fun to read and it’s just one of those feel-good stories that’s perfect for the summertime. Sure it had it’s cliches and it was predictable, but K. A. Tucker made the ride to the end so much fun and it was just so light and perfect that it’s completely worth the read. There were still some things that made me gasp and by the end I just had such a warm feeling in my heart. Definitely recommended – and I totally recommend reading anything by K. A. Tucker. She’s such a great writer!

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

Aestas Book Blog
All About Romance
Unconventional Book Views

3 thoughts on “[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] Until It Fades by K. A. Tucker

  1. Pingback: Month of Canada for #Canada150 Wrap Up & Giveaway! | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

