[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1) by K. A. Tucker


Book Details:

Format: Ebook
Source: Purchased
Read: May 2017

Synopsis:

Just breathe, Kacey. Ten tiny breaths. Seize them. Feel them. Love them.

Four years ago Kacey Cleary’s life imploded when her car was hit by a drunk driver, killing her parents, boyfriend, and best friend. Still haunted by memories of being trapped inside, holding her boyfriend’s lifeless hand and listening to her mother take her last breath, Kacey wants to leave her past behind. Armed with two bus tickets, twenty-year-old Kacey and her fifteen-year-old sister, Livie, escape Grand Rapids, Michigan, to start over in Miami. Struggling to make ends meet, Kacey needs to figure out how to get by. But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle anything—anything but her mysterious neighbor in apartment 1D.

Trent Emerson has smoldering blue eyes, deep dimples, and he perfectly skates that irresistible line between nice guy and bad boy. Hardened by her tragic past, Kacey is determined to keep everyone at a distance, but their mutual attraction is undeniable and Trent is determined to find a way into Kacey’s guarded heart—even if it means that an explosive secret could shatter both their worlds.

My Thoughts

I remember way back when New Adult books were the latest thing, I read so many of them — too many of them, in fact, that I grew tired of the same old trope. Innocent and naive 20-something woman meets bad boy 20-something guy, they fall in love, have wild sex, and love trumps all in the end. I read too many of the same thing, the same characters over and over again that it’s been a while since I’ve read anything in the genre.

However, since I’ve been attacking books on my shelf that I’ve bought in previous years, books that currently sit unread, I finally dove into this book by Canadian author Kathleen Tucker. I knew it was a New Adult book and maybe that’s what was holding me back from reading it, but since I had a month of Canada coming up, I figured I’d try her out. I’m so glad I did because this book was so addicting! It wasn’t like the New Adult books I grew tired of back in the day, but had a fresh feel to it. I loved Kacey and Livie (and can’t wait to read Livie’s book next!) and I can’t even imagine what Kacey would be going through. While there was a fair share of problems going on for her and her sister, this book was still light and fun and it kept me up much later than I usually stay up at night and I even put the book I had been reading aside so I could read more of this one!

I loved that Kacey was a strong and tough girl – even if a lot of her toughness was covering up for something else, almost an escape from reality. I also loved Trent and that he wasn’t just some macho bad guy, but that he had issues, too. I adored Storm and even loved their place of work — Cain and Nate and Ben were so much fun and this book just moved at such a fast pace that I couldn’t put it down! I loved the romance, even if it was just a bit too unbelievable, and I hope that the romance just gets better and better in future books!

I can’t wait to read more books by Kathleen. I loved her writing and I am so so glad that I have tons of books by her to read still! She’s definitely found a new fan.  🙂

But don’t take my word for it … read some other reviews! 

Reading Turtle Duck
Obsessive Book Nerd
Akiikomori Reading

One thought on “[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1) by K. A. Tucker

  1. Pingback: Month of Canada for #Canada150 Wrap Up & Giveaway! | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

