2017 🇨🇦 Canadian Book Release Spotlight: Seven Days In May by Kim Izzo

This month I will be featuring new releases from Canadian authors! From indie authors to well-known authors, I want to share with you the books I’m most excited for this year — I hope you’ll add some of them to your own wishlist and TBR! 

Seven Days In May by Kim Izzo

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

HarperCollins Publshers | May 2, 2017

For readers of Kate Williams, Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson, a captivating novel of love and resilience during the Great War, inspired by the author’s family history.

As the First World War rages in continental Europe, two New York heiresses, Sydney and Brooke Sinclair, are due to set sail for England. Brooke is engaged to marry impoverished aristocrat Edward Thorpe-Tracey, the future Lord Northbrook, in the wedding of the social calendar. Sydney has other adventures in mind; she is drawn to the burgeoning suffragette movement, which is a constant source of embarrassment to her proper sister. As international tempers flare, the German embassy releases a warning that any ships making the Atlantic crossing are at risk. Undaunted, Sydney and Brooke board the Lusitania for the seven-day voyage with Edward, not knowing that disaster lies ahead.

In London, Isabel Nelson, a young woman grateful to have escaped her blemished reputation in Oxford, has found employment at the British Admiralty in the mysterious Room 40. While she begins as a secretary, it isn’t long before her skills in codes and cyphers are called on, and she learns a devastating truth and the true cost of war.

As the days of the voyage pass, these four lives collide in a struggle for survival as the Lusitania meets its deadly fate.

I am loving historical fiction books lately and I had no idea that this one was Canadian! The cover caught my eye and the story sounds really, really good. Can’t wait to read this one!

What Canadian book are you waiting for? 

Advertisements

One thought on “2017 🇨🇦 Canadian Book Release Spotlight: Seven Days In May by Kim Izzo

  1. This one is on my reading list as well! I’m also waiting for my local library to have copies of Company Town by Madeline Ashby, and The Break by Katherena Vermette. Been on the waiting list for months–super popular books!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s