[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn Middleton

Book Details:

Format: Paperback
Source: Gifted by the author
Read: June 2017

Synopsis:

A New City A New Start. Same Old Demons.

Your flight is now boarding! Join Alex Sinclair for a life-changing, trans-Atlantic journey. London Belongs to Me is a coming-of-age story about friendship, following your dreams, and learning when to let go … and when to hang on.

Meet Alex, a recent college graduate from Tallahassee, Florida in love with London, pop culture, and comic cons. It’s not easy being twenty-one-years-old, and Alex has never been the most popular girl. She’s an outsider, a geeky fangirl … with dreams of becoming a playwright in a city she’s loved from afar, but never visited. Fleeing America after a devastating betrayal, she believes London is where she’ll be understood, where she belongs. But Alex’s past of panic attacks and broken relationships is hard to escape. When her demons team up with a jealous rival determined to destroy her new British life, Alex begins to question everything: her life-long dream, her new friends, and whether London is where she truly belongs.

My Thoughts

First off, thank you so much to the author, Jacquelyn Middleton, for sending me a copy of her debut book to enjoy! Books about traveling are probably my favourite kinds to read since I’ve really only stayed within the confines of North America and would love to visit places like England, Ireland, or Scotland. Since I can’t exactly hop on a plane and go right now, I will live this dream vicariously through books.

This was quite the enjoyable read and I thought that Alex and her fangirling nature was exactly how I would be if I traveled abroad. I doubt I would ever feel comfortable to just travel to another country, all by myself, to conquer my dreams, but Alex did it and I loved reading about her struggles as she figured out herself in this foreign country. I loved the romance that was thrown in and I loved Alex’s friends and, really, this book was just the perfect kind of read for a lazy afternoon!

I’m happy to have found a Canadian author who writes fun new adult novels because I really can’t get enough! And can I have my ticket to London now, please?

2 thoughts on “[Canadian 🇨🇦 Book Talk] London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn Middleton

  1. Pingback: Month of Canada for #Canada150 Wrap Up & Giveaway! | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

