2017 🇨🇦 Canadian Book Release Spotlight: Where I Live Now by Sharon Butala

This month I will be featuring new releases from Canadian authors! From indie authors to well-known authors, I want to share with you the books I’m most excited for this year — I hope you’ll add some of them to your own wishlist and TBR! 

Where I Live Now: A Journey Through Love and Loss To Healing and Hope by Sharon Butala

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Simon & Schuster | April 4, 2017

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss.

“It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended.” —Sharon Butala

In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers.

When Sharon Butala’s husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory—of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss.

Often called one of this country’s true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

I don’t have many non-fiction books on my 31 days this month, but the ones I do have look fascinating and feel almost personal to me. This one really makes me think since I’ve known some people who have lost their spouse and of course, being married, I can’t even imagine how I would react in that situation. I’m definitely interested in reading this one!

What Canadian book are you waiting for? 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “2017 🇨🇦 Canadian Book Release Spotlight: Where I Live Now by Sharon Butala

  1. This is on my reading pile. I tried it a few months ago, but put it down because I wasn’t in the right headspace for it. Hopefully I’ll pick it back up to read during my lunch at work! The cover is gorgeous in person!

  2. Pingback: Month of Canada for #Canada150 Wrap Up & Giveaway! | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s